JG's Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Outstanding!! This was not only my first experience cooking with lamb, but it was my first time every eating lamb. I wanted a hearty stew to serve 8 guests that we were having over for dinner. This one looked the most appetizing and the ingredients were mostly things I had on hand, with the exception of the lamb and the rutagaga. This meal was a huge hit, from the very minute everyone walked in and inhaled the incredible aroma coming from he kitchen. I would make this again in a heartbeat and I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks, JG, for making my first taste of lamb such a memorable one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great taste and ingredient list. I forewent the rutabaga because i didnt have it on hand. I would be interested in finding a less labor intensive way to prepare. Maybe by using a slow cooker. I will play with this recipe again but taste 5* steps/work/wait 3*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this tonight. It was really excellent. I made the following modifications: I used 3lbs of bone-in lamb stew meat. I put the salt and pepper into a Ziploc bag with 1/2 cup of flour and shook the meat cubes in it and knocking off the excess before browning in the bacon drippings. I omitted the tomatoes and oregano. I used 1/2 the amount of mushrooms and 1/2 the amount of barley. I used very small baby red potatoes which I left whole rather than cubing. I added 1/2 cup of home-made demiglace when I put in the broth, for color and richness. For the thickening slurry at the end I used some of the leftover seasoned dredging flour to mix with the reserved Guinness. 2 tablespoons was enough since the barley has some thickening action. The lamb got so tender most of it fell of the bones making it easier to eat. My girlfriend's mother came to dinner and had seconds, which is rare for her. Even with 3 of us eating two servings each, we have plenty of leftovers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is very tasty. Enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was excellent! We left out the rutabagas and added a bit more potato. We also used some San Marzano tomatoes we had on hand instead of the fire roasted tomatoes. And, we used dried herbs instead of fresh, as we also already had those on hand. We did not add the flour at the end, but the broth still had a nice thickness from the barley. We used a nice coffee porter from a local brewery instead of Guiness. All in all very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My husband gave me grief about buying lamb because it's so expensive where we live, but after having this stew he asked me to make it again 2 days later, but with even more lamb. It was a huge hit with everyone, will be making this again & again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was a wonderful hearty meal! I used parsnips in place of the rutabaga and fire roasted red peppers in place of the tomatoes and reduced the barley to 2/3 cup. I will certainly make this again it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
The final product was pretty tasty, but this recipe is somewhat labor-intensive for a one-pot meal. This was a hearty and satisfying meal in the end, and the leftovers were great heated up for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Went to the butcher and got fresh lamb and some good Irish beer, made a loaf of Irish potato bread and we had a great meal. I would recommend this to anyone, we had our good friends over for supper and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topfuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Great recipe. I also used beef (and left out rutabaga) for the kids....can't wait to try it with the Lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warrior Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States