Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I enjoyed this quite a bit. I'm a tough scorer, so 3 stars for me is pretty good. I don't understand the sitting in the fridge overnight though. In theory it must be to absorb more flavor, but I found it to be opposite. It tasted better to me fresh off the stove than refrigerated till the next day. I made a large enough brisket were it lasted 3 days for leftovers (I'm the only meat eater in the house besides my dogs LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I thought this recipe was excellent. I followed it exactly, except that my brisket was 6lbs, so I added a little more water to the pot. I used homemade spicy ketchup, and raw apple cider vinegar. It was perfectly seasoned, and very tender. Thanks for a great recipe! I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the best brisket recipe I have made it came out perfect . I froze the leftovers when I used it for suprise guest everone raved and thought i had just made it . I wouldn"t change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pine Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe and a great treat for the taste buds. We had a small passover this year and I decided last minute to go with brisket for main course. Not a scrap left on the platter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was unbelieveable! I made this tonight and it was a hit! I can't wait until tomorrow so I can have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was wonderful. The only changes I made were that I added the onion and garlic while I was browning the meat. I also used chili sauce instead of ketchup. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Served this at Passover and it was a hit. Very tasty. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My Husband loved this recipe. He never eats leftovers, but he did this one. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
WOW!!! So simple & so good. My husband compared it to the best restaurant in town and he's picky. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I bought an 8 pound brisket & cut it in half. This gave me a chance to try the recipe twice & have plenty of leftovers as most said that was the only draw back... not enough left over. Both briskets turned out super and I know this is going to be made again & again. Thanks for sharing!!!! Amazingly easy to make. I made exactly as the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States