Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Followed the recipe as is. This brisket came out awesome! Will use this recipe every time I make brisket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
ZERO complaints. Everyone at Passover wanted the recipe! Even non-meat eaters were enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Dear god. I'm not much of a chef, but this was the best thing in the world. Simmered that for probably 3.5 hours, and the 8 people at our super Jewish Seder party loved the hell out of it. Such a simple recipe and so amazing. Totally making this again pretty much every five minutes for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHEN_SLUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is GREAT! I made it also with other cuts of meat...this is perfect. I added more everything...I love vinegar...tripled it and added 1 c dark brown sugar...the whole bulb of garlic and 4 onions...it's a keeper. My John, LOVED IT...fantastic with roasted veggies..any kind and garlic. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I have made this brisket for the past 2 years for Passover Seder. Both times it has come out beautifully! Instead of cooking in a pot on the stove I browned the meat in a pan and they placed the meat in a slow cooker for 12 hours on low. This is perfect because I can start the meat in the morning before work and it is ready when I am ready to have guests over in the evening. The meat is tangy and sweet. This is perfect served with Cole-slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
OMG! this was soooo good! I think I may have to fight the family for the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Delicious. It definitely took more around 3.5 hours of simmering to get tender. The vinegar plus sweetness combo in the sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This brisket was a big hit at my house. I only made two small modifications. I used beer in place of the water, and subbed Splenda Brown for the brown sugar. It turned out fantastic - There were NO leftovers. Thanks, Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
In place of water add 1 can of beer In place of vinegar add 1 cup of chili sauce and reduce the brown sugar to 2 tbls. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe and directions to a T. Absolutely delicious and amazing. I made no modification what so ever. There were no left overs at all. I had it with BBQ baked bean, coleslaw, corn bread and for desert peach pie and vanilla iced cream. Thank you for this awesome recipe that I will not only use time and time again in the futre but I will also share with those close to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Groves
Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States