Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this! The piece of meat I had was only a bit over 2 lbs, and I used that and the full amount of the other ingredients, along with a lb. of carrots (which came out almost candied and were great! Cooked it for 2 1/2 hrs on medium and couldn't resist, so didn't do the overnight thing - no need to - it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I don't think I've ever really had a brisket so I bought one and decided to make it. I chose to make this recipe. It was very good, especially made by someone who didn't know how it should taste. My family loved it so I guess it turned out right! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delawitch
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used a flank steak and cut the ingredients in half for the gravy. This made a very good dinner with roasted potatoes and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wow! This was AMAZING! I am getting hungry just thinking about it while I post my rating. Aside from the minor prep work, there really wasn't much to do, a big plus for me. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jdubaya77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe. The brisket was so tender and flavorful and with the gravy it was just melt in your mouth good. I followed the recipe as written except for storing in the fridge. We will have leftovers so I will be making meal sized portions to freeze for lunches at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmberman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
WOW!! I know everybody loves this one so here are the tweaks I made. I cooked a 3 1.4 lb. brisket for 3 hours then I put it into the fridge (always better the second night). When ready, I removed all the fat, moved the brisket to the cutting board, added 2 tbsp butter to he sauce began reducing. While the sauce reduced to half, I sliced the brisket across the grain. When the sauce was reduced, I added the sliced meat back to warm. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this for a commencement celebration and EVERYONE loves it; many asked for the recipe. It's delicious. It's also very easy to make, but be sure to remove the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Although I was skeptical at first about the idea of sweet and sour flavors in brisket, I made this and took it to a Chanukah dinner. Jews and gentiles alike loved this dish! A couple of minor deviations. First, I started with a corned beef brisket (all I could get on short notice). After boiling, I removed the brisket from the boiling liquid, sliced, and placed in a dish with cooking liquid to cover. I then refrigerated for only an hour before the party and re-heated in the oven until boiling again. I served it with some of the cooking liquid thickened with cornstarch to make a "gravy". Delicious! I will make this again, certainly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This brisket was out of this world. My boyfriend is Jewish and grew up eating brisket, but I am not super familiar with Kosher cooking. I gave this a try and WOW! It was so delicious and tender. I'm sure I'll be making this again... only next time, I will try making my own corned beef first out of London Broil, or perhaps another cheap piece of meat. Can't wait, and will update!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Didn't change a thing from this recipe. I did however brown on the grill rathar than in the pot. (personal preference). I even upsized the amounts and it came out perfect. Ive been trying to find the perfect brisket recipe for years and this is it. Now will be a family favorite forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMOSKOWITZ
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States