Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Had very good flavor, but sauce was a little watery for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Delicious! Even my toddler liked it. We ate it immediately after cooking and it was still good. However, the next day the refrigerated leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I would highly recommend! I tweaked the recipe a little bit and it came out REALLY amazing! I used 3 lbs of brisket (trimmed), used 2 cloves of garlic, added 1/2 cup syrup (log cabin 'natural' brand), and added 2 cups of coke zero to the called for ingredients. I also didn't add salt. I threw all of the ingredients in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 14(?) hours before transferring it over to a pot and placing it in the fridge. You'll definitely need to let this dish sit in the refrigerator overnight... after six hours the fat didn't solidify enough to skim as I've done in the past with other dishes. The final result was an amazing dish that my boyfriend and I were both impressed by. I made the changes to the recipe trying to make it similar to a recipe I tried in the past that I forgot to save and couldn't find. This will be liked but all, trust and believe that! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Made this for a Seder meal at my church. People raved about it! This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wow, did this surprise me! I've made beef in the crockpot before, and to me most recipes end up all taste pretty similar. This recipe, however, is much different. Its very tangy and sweet which was so delicious! I just browned the meat and threw the rest into the crockpot and turned on low for 10 hours. With a side of garlic red potatoes, this meal will make my mouth water whenever thinking about it. I think this might be a good sauce for pork shoulder too, which could turn into shredded pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very tastey and tender. Will definately make again. I fogot the salt, but we didn't miss it. Though I did use a kosher brisket, so it's kind of already "pre salted"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is really good brisket! I added quite a bit of extra garlic, browned the meat in a skillet and cooked it in the slow cooker for about eight hours on low. I'm looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Followed the recipe as is. This brisket came out awesome! Will use this recipe every time I make brisket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
ZERO complaints. Everyone at Passover wanted the recipe! Even non-meat eaters were enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Dear god. I'm not much of a chef, but this was the best thing in the world. Simmered that for probably 3.5 hours, and the 8 people at our super Jewish Seder party loved the hell out of it. Such a simple recipe and so amazing. Totally making this again pretty much every five minutes for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHEN_SLUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States