Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
So good and so easy. I didn't have time to let it sit over night. So I cooked it this morning starting at 9. Got it sliced and in the fridge by 12, reheated it for dinner at 6:30. SO GOOD. Even my picky eaters devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent! Used brown sugar Splenda but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and brisket came out great. It was smelling so good after 2 1/2 hours that I had no patience to let it cook for another 1/2-1 hr although I probably should have to make it even more tender. In any case, it got very high compliments from everyone who had tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
greatrecipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
YUM! Used palm sugar in place of brown sugar (lower glycemic)and cider vinegar in place of white. It was great! Sauce got a little too thick towards the end. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was awesome! I browned the brisket and then put it in the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients for about 9 hours on low. We ate it the same day. Even my fussy 3 year olds liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
was way too sweet, but that could just be my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Had very good flavor, but sauce was a little watery for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Delicious! Even my toddler liked it. We ate it immediately after cooking and it was still good. However, the next day the refrigerated leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I would highly recommend! I tweaked the recipe a little bit and it came out REALLY amazing! I used 3 lbs of brisket (trimmed), used 2 cloves of garlic, added 1/2 cup syrup (log cabin 'natural' brand), and added 2 cups of coke zero to the called for ingredients. I also didn't add salt. I threw all of the ingredients in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 14(?) hours before transferring it over to a pot and placing it in the fridge. You'll definitely need to let this dish sit in the refrigerator overnight... after six hours the fat didn't solidify enough to skim as I've done in the past with other dishes. The final result was an amazing dish that my boyfriend and I were both impressed by. I made the changes to the recipe trying to make it similar to a recipe I tried in the past that I forgot to save and couldn't find. This will be liked but all, trust and believe that! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States