Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I thought this was a very helpful recipe to use. I felt that this needed some more liquid so I added some more water to keep it moist while I cooked it. I thought that searing the meat in the ditch oven was very difficult to do, next time I might sear it in another pan so that would be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Everyone loved this brisket! I did mine in the crockpot. I browned the meat first then everything went in on low for 7 hours. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 due to the fact that the amount of vinegar made it too sour. I realize it's a sweet and sour recipe, but it was overwhelming. I ended up having to add more brown sugar. I will definitely make this recipe again - the meat was moist, juicy and fell apart - but I will probably use half the amount of vinegar. Good recipe tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
we didn't really care for the flavor. I LOVE brisket, but not this flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Today I looked up recipes for Brisket, clicked on this one and found it to be the same recipe that I have been using since the late 90's. It is my go to recipe for the holidays. I brown the brisket in onions and three cloves of garlic. I also double the sauce and cook the brisket for 3 hours on the first day. I cool it over night in the sauce, slice then cook for an additional 1 1/2 hrs to 2hrs the second day until its fork tender. It's amazing! The longer it simmers in the sauce the better it tastes. I have also cooked it with carrots and potatoes which I add on the second day of cooking.-Jdee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This came out delicious. I also browned the meat first and put everything into a dutch oven in the oven, since this way you don't have to watch it. I added chunks of potatoes which also came out delicious. You could add other things like chunks of carrots, peppers, etc, so you have a meal in one pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Awesome recipe and an instant family favorite. I loved how easy it was to prepare with ingredients I always have on hand. Made as directed and only refrigerated a little bit left over. The gravy is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This dish is the bomb! Easy to prepare and loaded with flavor! I added carrots and served with a side dish of Roasted potatoes .( Lipton onion Soup Mix Roasted Potatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I bought three briskets about two pounds each, total six pounds. I increase other ingredients proportionally. I browned per the instructions. Then using big crock pot, I started this the night before my dinner. In the morning I took the crockpot out of frig to let it get closer to room temp. So as not to break the crockpot I started it on keep warm, then low, then high to cook, then back to low until tender. It was a BIG hit. My son sliced it. The two 18 year old girls who were helping in the kitchen nibbled and nibbled before dinner. Everyone enjoyed and remarked how good it was. I have maybe one slice left over. The extra sauce I put on my potatoes and onions. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was simply delicious, this was the perfect recipe for a very important dinner party, only difference was we added red onions to help enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States