Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe looks delicious! It reminds me of the food that was served at my cousin's bithday party. The food taste was so good and fresh that I had to ask who the cooker was! They told me about Coleen's and know I can't wait to plan an event and hire them. http://colleenscateringservices.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was simply delicious, this was the perfect recipe for a very important dinner party, only difference was we added red onions to help enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this for my family and they loved it. I simmered it the three hrs. and sliced it up,put in the frig as per recipe. But later doubled on the sauce and finished it in the slow cooker on low for 10 hrs. It turned out really tender and tangy. localboy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this! The piece of meat I had was only a bit over 2 lbs, and I used that and the full amount of the other ingredients, along with a lb. of carrots (which came out almost candied and were great! Cooked it for 2 1/2 hrs on medium and couldn't resist, so didn't do the overnight thing - no need to - it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I don't think I've ever really had a brisket so I bought one and decided to make it. I chose to make this recipe. It was very good, especially made by someone who didn't know how it should taste. My family loved it so I guess it turned out right! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delawitch
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used a flank steak and cut the ingredients in half for the gravy. This made a very good dinner with roasted potatoes and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wow! This was AMAZING! I am getting hungry just thinking about it while I post my rating. Aside from the minor prep work, there really wasn't much to do, a big plus for me. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe. The brisket was so tender and flavorful and with the gravy it was just melt in your mouth good. I followed the recipe as written except for storing in the fridge. We will have leftovers so I will be making meal sized portions to freeze for lunches at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmberman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
WOW!! I know everybody loves this one so here are the tweaks I made. I cooked a 3 1.4 lb. brisket for 3 hours then I put it into the fridge (always better the second night). When ready, I removed all the fat, moved the brisket to the cutting board, added 2 tbsp butter to he sauce began reducing. While the sauce reduced to half, I sliced the brisket across the grain. When the sauce was reduced, I added the sliced meat back to warm. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this for a commencement celebration and EVERYONE loves it; many asked for the recipe. It's delicious. It's also very easy to make, but be sure to remove the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States