Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Awesome recipe and an instant family favorite. I loved how easy it was to prepare with ingredients I always have on hand. Made as directed and only refrigerated a little bit left over. The gravy is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This dish is the bomb! Easy to prepare and loaded with flavor! I added carrots and served with a side dish of Roasted potatoes .( Lipton onion Soup Mix Roasted Potatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I bought three briskets about two pounds each, total six pounds. I increase other ingredients proportionally. I browned per the instructions. Then using big crock pot, I started this the night before my dinner. In the morning I took the crockpot out of frig to let it get closer to room temp. So as not to break the crockpot I started it on keep warm, then low, then high to cook, then back to low until tender. It was a BIG hit. My son sliced it. The two 18 year old girls who were helping in the kitchen nibbled and nibbled before dinner. Everyone enjoyed and remarked how good it was. I have maybe one slice left over. The extra sauce I put on my potatoes and onions. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was simply delicious, this was the perfect recipe for a very important dinner party, only difference was we added red onions to help enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this for my family and they loved it. I simmered it the three hrs. and sliced it up,put in the frig as per recipe. But later doubled on the sauce and finished it in the slow cooker on low for 10 hrs. It turned out really tender and tangy. localboy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this! The piece of meat I had was only a bit over 2 lbs, and I used that and the full amount of the other ingredients, along with a lb. of carrots (which came out almost candied and were great! Cooked it for 2 1/2 hrs on medium and couldn't resist, so didn't do the overnight thing - no need to - it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I don't think I've ever really had a brisket so I bought one and decided to make it. I chose to make this recipe. It was very good, especially made by someone who didn't know how it should taste. My family loved it so I guess it turned out right! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delawitch
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used a flank steak and cut the ingredients in half for the gravy. This made a very good dinner with roasted potatoes and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wow! This was AMAZING! I am getting hungry just thinking about it while I post my rating. Aside from the minor prep work, there really wasn't much to do, a big plus for me. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe. The brisket was so tender and flavorful and with the gravy it was just melt in your mouth good. I followed the recipe as written except for storing in the fridge. We will have leftovers so I will be making meal sized portions to freeze for lunches at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmberman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States