Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe saved my dinner. I had an extra large brisket, so I cut it in two and made this and Oh So Tender Brisket. The other turned out like jerky (my fault, I think the recipe has great potential), so I was happy to have this as backup. I had a few issues with the actual execution of the recipe. I couldn't figure out how the uncooked side of the meat would brown on top of onions so I browned it before adding the onions. Because the onions were thickly sliced, adding the liquid to nearly cover the meat results in swimming meat when the onions cook down and a LOT of liquid left at the end. I used beef broth (1 can regular, 1 can Campbell's double strength). I made gravy and the flavor was good, but pretty salty so I'll adjust the broth content next time. The meat was wet, but not moist (if that makes sense). I've never made brisket before so that may just be the nature of the beast. The simple ingredients really allowed the meat flavor to take center stage and meat purists will appreciate the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
My picky bf and son loved this. This was my first time to cook a brisket so I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the recipe exactly but the brisket did not come out fork tender as stated. Also, my gravy was more like water (maybe I put too much). I put enough to almost cover the meat. I will try this again with less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I'm not a fan of corned beef, which is how most people prepare beef brisket. I have used a similar recipe like this for years, the only differences are: I brown the roast completely before adding the onions, and as I allergic to garlic, I leave that out. The size of the pan determines how much the liquid will reduce. If you roast in a dutch oven, there will not be much reduction, so use less water. When I make it, I fill only half up the roast. If you use a more shallow pan, fill to cover the roast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Delicious! Everyone heard we were having brisket and thought of the corned beef, but were plesentaly surprised with this recipe. Its really tasty. I also browned the second side before putting it on the onions! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I'm currently attending culinary school in connecticut, and needed to find recipes for "kosher food day". Being the only jew in my class, I wanted to show my knowledge of cooking off a bit, and then realised i've never used a recipe in my life. unfortunatly, my teachers won't allow us to go into the kitchen without some recipes written down, so, having this guideline really helped. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Needs more -- vegetables, carrots, celery, onions -- for a rich pot liquor. Don't use water -- use a rich beef stock. For an excellent piece of meat, be certain to buy a FIRST-CUT BRISKET!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I really love brisket, after all, I'm Jewish. The thing is, this recipe, and most I have found, leave this overcooked dry outcome. Whenever I go to those fancy buffets that serve brisket, they are serving it with lots of pink inside, and to be honest, this is the way I really like it. The other way requires lots and lots of soaking in sauce to make it tender and I don't really have the patience or inclination to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I made this recipe and added one more ingredient, it turned out fabulous!! The other ingredient I added, was a packet of onion soup mix. I did not add the beef broth, but added water as the recipe directed, and with the onion soup mix, the gravy turned out thick and wonderful! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I am a first time cook of Beef Brisket, not to mention, that I don't often cook too much of anything else either, but I longed for the Beef Brisket Sandwich you get in a good Jewish Deli without going all the way to New York ;) The Brisket turned out great; the flavor was exactly what I was aiming for. I thought that I had drown the brisket, as some of the other's did, the pot size is very important in proportion to the size of the piece of brisket, but as the recipe directed, ‘after removing the Brisket from the pot’, I simmered the broth with the Pot Lid ajar, until it reduced (about 1hr) to a fine delectably tasty gravy. Yes this recipe will be well used and some of the hints in the other reviews as well, But, let us not forget this was and is the only recipe that I found that met my requirements for a Delicious mouth-watering Brisket of Beef sandwich. My Gratitude and Appreciation to you FriendlyFood for submitting and sharing your Mothers Recipe. Note: This was the first time since my Mother passed that I used her old seasoned & blackened (Dutch oven), I think that’s what it’s called? Anyway it brought back many fond memories of her in the kitchen cooking her favorite recipes such as pot roast or turkey & giblet gravy. Thanks & Regards RECIPE NOTES: • Be careful with the pepper (Don't over season, you can't change after it is cooked and too much pepper will make the Brisket inedible. If your not sure(try dusting off excess pepper before cooking) • Be sure to N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was my first time making brisket and it was awesome. It was so tender and flavorful and the gravy was so good. I can't wait to have it again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States