Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made it for Rosh Hashanah dinner and it was a hit!!! I followed the recipe and the only substitution I made is the use of low sodium beef broth instead of water. The next day the left over juice poured over sliced left over brisket I reheated in the oven at 250 degree for 45 min. And it was even better then the first day. Great Recipe, thanks for sharing. A+++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was quick & easy, and it came out delicious. The only thing I would recommend adding would be a couple to a few beef bouillon cubes to the water or using beef stock instead of the water, but the cubes did it for me, I added carrots the last hour, and it was raved about the whole nIght!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I made this tonight an it was AWESOME!!! My dad said it reminded him of Demph- (Demf?) from his childhood. Everything was sooooo tender and soft. It was all done in 1 pot. I made sure to take the meat out to reach room temp and it was a hit! I browned both sides of the brisket before adding onions, carrots and halved baby potatoes. I used a whole box of beef stock and sliced 2 garlic cloves in half. A++++ I will make this at least once a month. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Son E Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used steak seasoning instead of salt and pepper. After searing the meat and cooking the onions, I added white wine and chicken stock instead of water, and kept it at a low simmer. I chopped potatoes into small chunks and also added them to the skillet along with mushrooms. After about 3 hours, the meat was fork-tender. I transferred it to a cutting board to rest and pulled out the potatoes, then boiled the remaining liquid down to a very tasty gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was amazing! Just like my grandmothers .. Although in channeling my own grandma I did also add a few things ... I used three large cloves of elephant garlic and put them in last they disintegrated and added a little sweetness and added beef bullion and celery and carrots. But the basics of this recipe were perfect to jump off of. So happy to find it :) I also loved doing it in a dutch oven as opposed to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My husband made this brisket and even though I told him to use beef broth and reduce the amount, he forgot. It was lacking flavor but I believe it was because of the amount of water. The brisket was super tender and cooked to perfection at about 3 1/2 hours. With a couple of tweaks this recipe will be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I added carrots and celery and it worked out good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schlosser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I had never made a fresh beef brisket before. After searching the internet, came across this recipe. I read the reviews and got a little concerned when people said it needed more flavor. Here is what I did: Browned both sides of the brisket (it was a little over 4.4 lbs.). Mixed 2 packets of brown gravy mix with enough water to cover about 3/4 of the meat. Chopped the onions and garlic and mixed it with the liquid before pouring it over the top. Covered and cooked for a little over 2 hours. Maybe the heat was set too high because it was perfect at that time! Any longer and I think it would have become dry. My Husband couldn't get enough of it and kept saying it tasted like prime rib...silly Man :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisamarks12
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I added Kosher grape juice and Kosher Lipton Onion soup mix. I normally do not cook but this was really worth the smiles on my families faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisamarks12

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I salted & peppered the brisket, added 3 pkts Swanson beef flavor boost, & water to cover brisket. I added too much liquid so after 2.5 hours add 1cup celery, 1cup carrots, & 2cup mushrooms. Put in the oven 260 F (uncovered so liquid would reduce) for 2 more hours. I added Trader Jo*s frozen mashed potato medallions to thicken. Honestly, it was a little dry and bland. Next time I would add the onion soup mix or try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States