Jewish Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I'm not Jewish, but I have a lapband which does not allow me to eat lasagne pasta...too thick & gets tuck. This recipe is an answer to my prayers for a lasagne that I can enjoy as well as my family. We didn't even miss the pasta! YUM! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is very tasty! I had all of the ingredients on hand with the exception of the matzo meal so I used a 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup italian bread crumbs mixed together - perfect! I also have a lap band and for anyone who has a lap band they will appreciate this recipe (I ate TWO CUP)! Thank you for sharing MelissaD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Yummy yummy this was a big hit with my family they loved it. No meat and I droped the mozzarella the frist time I made it and they still love it. Today they will have it with the mozzarella so i know I wi hear yommy yummy again. 5 statrs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I was a little skeptical about making this. I am not jewish but I did have a couple over for last night who happen to be jewish and he is strictly on a kosher diet and a vegetarian and the other well, is jewish as well but isnt as strict in her diet. So I said "what the heck let me try this out". And I am so glad I did. I ended up using about 2 small-medium sized eggplants. I am so glad I used the matzo meal instead of bread crumbs. I think that is something that I will be using often. That was my first time having matzo meal. I didnt just use red pepper I also added a little bit of yellow and green. I also used 2 packages of a mushrooms medley that were mixed with all kind of exotic mushrooms and oooh so yummy. My husband and I love mushrooms especially the mixed medley kind. About $4 bucks a package. The only thing I would do differently is layer the mozzarella between the veggies and eggplant. And 1 package is not enough. I used 2 and I wish I had bought more. But the exciting thing for me was that my guests loved it and even asked for some more to take home with them for lunch tomorrow. I am not kidding! I was like "sure!" I was so happy knowing I had pleased my finicky guests lol. It was fun. And would gladly make this again. It was a lot of fin making sort if like a mini art project. I wanted everthing to look perfect! Happy eating people!!! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
SUPER SIMPLE, I like super simple. I halved this recipe so it'd fit in my toaster oven. It turned out delicious, like eggplant parm with healthy sauteed goodies mixed in. I'll definitely be making this again in the future. I didn't change a thing and don't think it really needs tweaking, it's delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good! Put a layer of provolone cheese in the middle., and used grilled portabello mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Yum! Used carrots instead of red pepper, saltines instead of matzo, and half the cheese; healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Sadly, I went to two stores here in Tucson, Arizona and couldn't find Matzo :-( I used panko, and it still tasted amazing. Love the simple ingredients. Used Paul Newman's tomato basil spaghetti sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is so good it must be criminal! I used italian bread crumbs because that is what I had on hand. I added some fresh spinach at the end of sauteeing the onions/peppers/mushrooms and also put some ground beef in my pasta sauce and layered some cheese in the middle. Husband had second helping, really enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The taste is very good, however it was too gloppy for my taste. Perhaps if portabello mushrooms were substituted. Also browning the eggplant slices took too much time. I should have read the recipe more carefully. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States