Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a wonderful coffee cake! I too opted for the brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Also used light sour cream. The batter is very thick so it's a little difficult to spread especially when spreading the final layer atop the crumb mixture. But it turns out incredibly moist and LIGHT! Checked it at 35 minutes... let it cook 5 more and it was perfect. Cooled for 10 minutes before cutting. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
WONDERFUL recipe! I put in about 1 1/4 cups of sour cream to make it a bit more moist. Also- mix the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture with some melted butter to form a soft crumble. I put some of the crumble in the bottom of a bundt pan, then 1/2 the batter, then more crumble, then the rest of the batter. Baked it for 55 minutes- it came out beautifully and it was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I quadrupled this recipe for 10 teenagers staying at my house and baked it in 2 9X13 pans. Delicious! Moist! Easy! - I did add a bit more sour cream than called for. I also had trouble smoothing the top layer over the crumbly middle (which I used 1/2 XX sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, cinnamon and no nuts). The TIP: wet fingers often to smooth top layer of batter - works perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Outstanding! I substituted brown sugar for the powedered sugar and it turned out great. However, I was horrified to see the amount of fat in each serving so I modified the recipe a little more the second time. I substituted low-fat plain yoghurt for the sour cream. Wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I thought this was pretty good. I just wasn't crazy about the confectioner's sugar. Next time, I will try it with the brown sugar instead. I baked mine in a 2 qt baking dish and an hour was too long, the cake was too dry. 45 min. would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This cake is easy to make and tastes great! I substitute butter, sour cream for vegetable oil and non fat yogurt respectively. It's still moist and taste wonderful. I'm sure I will bake this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akiko Ono

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This recipe was wonderful! I cant say anything bad about it- i did use brown sugar and cinnamon instead of confectioners sugar- it tasted wonderful- ill second the notion and THANK SARAH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Wonderfully tastey and very easy to make! This coffee cake is a family favorite! I use brown sugar instead of powder sugar, and I sometimes use plain or vanilla flavored yogurt in place of the sourcream depending on what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Nice texture and flavor. Personally, I think it needs no icing, especially as a cake to eat with coffee. I used margarine instead of butter. Did a little something different with the cinnamon filling: I used brown sugar and cinnamon and mixed the butter (margarine) in with the beaters I mixed the cake batter with. Added a large dollop of the cake batter to form a thick cinnamon batter. I used a bundt pan (greased) and put down a layer of the cake batter, made a little trough with my spatula and put in the cinnamon batter, then covered it with remaining cake batter. Baked for 45 minutes at 350 in the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States