Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was an amazing recipe! I was a little weirded out by the sour cream, but was quickly straighten out when I tasted it! This recipe has excellant taste and texture! Even my picky son ate it! 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I really liked this recipe! The cake was moist and had just the right amount of sweetness (not too sweet, which I don't like). The house was filled with the smell of warm cinnamon... I make a cake or muffins every Sunday night for a quick breakfast my husband can grab in the mornings and he loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Exactly the coffee cake I was looking for. I baked it in a bundt and layed in extra brown sugar and cinnamon. Ate it all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was delicious. It was easy to make and it was a great dish. I highly recommend it to any novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great cake! I took the cake batter and gently folded in 2 cups of blueberries, followed by a light brown sugar topping on the top of cake. I checked the cake after 40 minutes....and decided it needed 5 more minutes, as many other people have suggested. Since I added fruit to the batter, I left it as written, as I wanted a stiffer cake batter. Superb! As with any cake, overworking the batter will develop the gluten in the flour, resulting in a dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I halved the recipe and added a couple spoonfuls more sour cream than the recipe calls for. Baked for about 40 min in a 9x4 loaf pan. It turned out quite moist and light. Can't wait to try it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysparkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I skipped the powdered sugar and did the brown sugar/ cinnamon mix because that's what I know. Didn't use any nuts because I didn't have any. My daughter did the mixing and when I checked it seemed a bit to thick in consistency to me so I added extra vanilla and some milk until I thought it was okay. Other than that, it came out fine. I have had better but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern-Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
WOW this was great!!! I brought it in to my salon and it was gone in 15 min! I used a loaf pan and was glad I did since it fell apart just a little when I took it out of the pan. Also added some brown sugar to the filling. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
i use brown sugar instead of cinfection sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
BEST Coffee Cake EVER! And I don't mean the best coffee cake I have ever made, because this is the first coffee cake I've ever made, but best coffee cake I've ever TASTED. Wow! I too added an extra 1/4 cup of sour cream (for a total of 1 1/4 cups) and doubled the cinnamon mixture for a thicker layer inside. For the cinnamon mixture, I omitted the nuts, since I didn't have any that were fresh, swapped brown sugar for confectioner's sugar, and added 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup to help the mixture stay a little gooey once the cake was cool. I checked the cake after 30 minutes and cooked it for a total of 45 minutes. Then once the cake was cooled for 15 minutes, I glazed it with a mix of confectioner's sugar, a little water, and a drop of lemon extract. Delicious!! The boyfriend was thrilled, too! I will make this recipe again and again. Thanks, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States