Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I thought this cake needed more sugar. I substituted brown sugar for the white powdered. I'm going to add a 1/4 cup more white sugar to the dough and mix the brown sugar with a tblsp of powdered sugar for the topping. This cake is very moist so i will make it again with the noted changes. I'll get back to you on how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quen10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is practically the recipe i grew up with my mom making except for the topping we use 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 granulated white sugar with the cinnamon and nuts. I personally dont use the nuts and its still a wonderful recipe! We also do this recipe in a bundt pan, i like the presentation better. the hardest part is getting it out in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloud2sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Real nice texture. I changed (like others) the powdered sugar to brown and then added sliced almonds to the top and fresh blueberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I omitted the nuts without changing anything else about the recipe. 1 hour was too long in my oven- next time i'll take it out after 45 min- but it was still an excellent coffee cake that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDYLEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
It was ok, just not what I was looking for. I'll try again, next Christmas, but next time try it with brown sugar, some raisins, and some confectioner's sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was an amazing recipe! I was a little weirded out by the sour cream, but was quickly straighten out when I tasted it! This recipe has excellant taste and texture! Even my picky son ate it! 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I really liked this recipe! The cake was moist and had just the right amount of sweetness (not too sweet, which I don't like). The house was filled with the smell of warm cinnamon... I make a cake or muffins every Sunday night for a quick breakfast my husband can grab in the mornings and he loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Exactly the coffee cake I was looking for. I baked it in a bundt and layed in extra brown sugar and cinnamon. Ate it all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was delicious. It was easy to make and it was a great dish. I highly recommend it to any novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great cake! I took the cake batter and gently folded in 2 cups of blueberries, followed by a light brown sugar topping on the top of cake. I checked the cake after 40 minutes....and decided it needed 5 more minutes, as many other people have suggested. Since I added fruit to the batter, I left it as written, as I wanted a stiffer cake batter. Superb! As with any cake, overworking the batter will develop the gluten in the flour, resulting in a dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States