Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I took a lot of suggestions from the reviews so it changed the recipe a bit! But overall great recipe....fantastic recipe with the following changes (using yogurt instead of sour cream and 1 1/4 cup yogurt) and cinnamon instead of powdered sugar.... and that's it! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was very good. I did what other reviewers did and used brown sugar instead of powdered sugar. I also doubled the amount of brown sugar mixture (and added a little butter)because I like a nice thick inner layer and crumble on top. It is a little hard to spread but once it is in the oven it all evens out. Thought this was great and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I'm going to try not to ever make this again. I ate the whole thing in a day. I made a few changes to the recipe. I omitted the nuts since my family doesn't like them (not that it mattered, since they barely got any!!!) and I accidentally mixed the melted butter in with the brown sugar (instead of powdered) & cinnamon mixture. I had to drop & "swirl" it around the top of the middle & top layers of the cake to spread it around (somewhat). But it ended up looking marvelous & marbled. I didn't like the top after everything was done so I mixed some powdered sugar, water & vanilla & made a drizzled topping that was a perfect compliment. VERY MOIST indeed.... I will try never to make again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Delicious! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Fantastic coffee cake. Not too sweet, easy to make..I'd been using another recipe for years but this one is more calorie kind than the old recipe and nothing was lsot in the taste. I did add a bit more of the filling ingredients for a more satisfying taste experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe was good. I did not quite get the ribbon through the center of the cake partly because i did not have a bunt pan and quite honestly the cake itself is moist and tasty enough to do without the ribbon and just be sprinkled with cinnamon sugar or crumbs on top. I also left out the sour cream and it was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Yum!! Only change I made was increased the sour cream to 1 1/4 cup super moist. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I have no idea what makes this cake Jewish, but it is very tasty and easy. Like other reviewers, I omitted the nuts, used brown sugar instead of confectioners, and shortened the baking time to around 45 minutes. I doubled the amount of cinnamon/sugar, although I ended up using not quite all of the doubled amount. I inadvertently doubled the melted butter to 4 Tbl (because I didn't carefully preread the recipe and I thought the butter would get mixed with the cin/sugar). This was actually a tasty mistake - the cake was extremely moist with a nice crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I thought this cake needed more sugar. I substituted brown sugar for the white powdered. I'm going to add a 1/4 cup more white sugar to the dough and mix the brown sugar with a tblsp of powdered sugar for the topping. This cake is very moist so i will make it again with the noted changes. I'll get back to you on how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quen10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is practically the recipe i grew up with my mom making except for the topping we use 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 granulated white sugar with the cinnamon and nuts. I personally dont use the nuts and its still a wonderful recipe! We also do this recipe in a bundt pan, i like the presentation better. the hardest part is getting it out in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloud2sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States