Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Excellent. The cake flew, didn't last long. Even my nephews ate it all. The change I made was brown sugar instead of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Yummy! I used amix of brown and regular sugar for the topping. I also baked in an 8x8 pan for 50 minutes. turned out woderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yams
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
is a pretty nice cake. wasnt as easy to pour into the pan to bake, was a bit heavy...but luckily it turned out ok. i wish i had used brown sugar instead of confectioners as many have suggested here. the confectioners looked creepy on top of the cake. i also added some mixed frozen berries to the middle walnut mixture and it gave it a bit of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very delicious, moist coffee cake. The cake itself is not too sweet. I made a few changes to suit my husbands' request for a coffee cake that tastes like a cinnamon roll. I didn't have nuts and used brown sugar instead of confectioner's for the filling. I made it in a loaf pan. And after it came out of the oven I put a streusel on top (over the brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful moist texture. Would have been even better with more cinnamon. I think I'll have to try it with jam for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a really good coffee cake.I did follow the advise of other reviewers and used brown sugar instead of confectioners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I took a lot of suggestions from the reviews so it changed the recipe a bit! But overall great recipe....fantastic recipe with the following changes (using yogurt instead of sour cream and 1 1/4 cup yogurt) and cinnamon instead of powdered sugar.... and that's it! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was very good. I did what other reviewers did and used brown sugar instead of powdered sugar. I also doubled the amount of brown sugar mixture (and added a little butter)because I like a nice thick inner layer and crumble on top. It is a little hard to spread but once it is in the oven it all evens out. Thought this was great and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I'm going to try not to ever make this again. I ate the whole thing in a day. I made a few changes to the recipe. I omitted the nuts since my family doesn't like them (not that it mattered, since they barely got any!!!) and I accidentally mixed the melted butter in with the brown sugar (instead of powdered) & cinnamon mixture. I had to drop & "swirl" it around the top of the middle & top layers of the cake to spread it around (somewhat). But it ended up looking marvelous & marbled. I didn't like the top after everything was done so I mixed some powdered sugar, water & vanilla & made a drizzled topping that was a perfect compliment. VERY MOIST indeed.... I will try never to make again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Delicious! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States