Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ok, full disclosure here, we made a number of changes First, we halved the batch for my small family, and cooked it in the toaster oven in a small round cake pan. Also, we are cutting down on our sugar, and since coffee cake is overly sweet to balance coffee, I often find i can cut the sugar in half. I think that next time I will only cut the white sugar in half, but only cut the powdered sugar by 1/4. I did half whole wheat and half white flour. And since we do not eat nuts around here, I substituted a 1/2 cup of crushed dried raspberries. Overall, it was a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was in a church cook book that I purchased twenty years ago. My family has enjoyed it every time that I make it. Very rich, very moist and very good. I would spray a bundt pan with pam and after it was baked I would carefully removed it from the pan (flip over) and then drizzled white sugar frosting just to add more calories. One of our favorites. Think I'll make one today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Warning! This cake will ruin your diet! Amazing! in one word. Since I am Jewish, and I wanted the cake to be a dessert for Shabbos, I used an apple sauce instead of the sour cream. (Since we don't mix meat with dairy). Also tried it with Better then cream cheese. Came out amazing. The only trouble is, it interferes with my diet. My husband loved it. Since he likes crunchy nuts, I used a cup of coursely sliced almonds. Used 13X9 Alluminum pan. I put the nuts mixture on top, and used organic brown sugar, instead of conf. Definately will try again! (G-d Willing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This cake is bad news! You won't be able to stop eating it! I doubled the recipe and it is half way gone! The only change I did was brown sugar instead of confectioner's and I added a little bit of milk to the batter (it was so thick, I was afraid the cake would have been dry had I not added the milk). No need for worries! The cake is delicious! Wonderful buttery flavor and moist, very moist! I'll keep on baking it! It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake makes frequent appearances on the breakfast buffet at my B&B- the only substitution is plain yogurt with a touch of milk for the sour cream as I cannot find sour cream in Italy and the addition of fresh fruit (apples, peaches, nectarines, etc.) to the middle layer of streusel filling. It is always well received by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I added 3/4 tsp salt, used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and used a nut mixture of various roasted nuts, some of which were salted. I also used regular white sugar in the nut mix. SO GOOD. This recipe has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great flavor. I doubled the recipe for my 9x13 pan. When I added all of that flour, it was really, really stiff. I added a 1/2 cup of buttermilk to loosen it and make it spreadable. It was still a pretty dry cake. I will try to tweak it a bit next time - less flour, I think. I also added 1/2 t of salt to give the flavors some dimension. Used brown sugar instead of confectioners sugar. I will add a crumble topping next time. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was awesome! the only thing I changed was using brown sugar instead of confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kierstynn S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was some of the best coffee cake I've ever had! I substituted brown sugar for the confectioners sugar as well and used a little over a cup of light sour cream. Everyone that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States