Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good cake. A little sweet, but we like it. I use brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Good basic coffee cake. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was a very nice coffee cake that had a nice buttery flavor and moist texture. I did add a little salt, but still the cake lacked a little something. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it still was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had high hopes for this based on the reviews. I made it for overnight guests and it was just okay. I thought the cake part lacked something and was on the dry side. You definitely have to have something to drink with it. I even added a 1/4 cup more sour cream as many suggested and took it out of the oven at 55 minutes. Maybe I was just expecting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I decided to give this recipe a try this morning. I used brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar, as others had suggested. I also added a bit extra of sour cream as other suggested as well. It was moist, tasty and pretty simple to whip out as I was half awake sipping my coffee. I think next time I will try the original amount of sour cream, it was alittle too moist in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I revised this because I do wheat free and dairy free cooking. Also cut back on the sugar and butter and it turned out great. I used 1/2 cup of sweet potato (can) or you can use apple sauce instead of butter. Instead of sour cream I used soy yogurt, and I used my own GF flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Didn't have a 9x9 pan so used a 9x13. There wasn't enough crumble and batter for two full layers, but it still turned out delicious. Just reduced baking time to ~35-40min. Cake was moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Rav reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I use chocolate chips instea of nuts, yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Brilliant! I made it for the first time today, and used hung yoghurt as a substitute for sour cream. The best part? How good the house smells while the cake is in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is pretty good. It is not overly sweet, it's relatively moist. By baking in a 9x9 pan it doesn't look very pretty in terms of in the pan or serving a slice, and the top and edges get pretty browned by the time the center is done. I used vegetable oil instead of butter. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayonnaise as that's what I had. I added 1 tsp salt. I used brown sugar instead of confectioners sugar in the crumble. And I used pecans. It was done at about 50-52 mins. Will make again but will use a bundt pan or some other decorative muffin-type tin, just worried the brown sugar filling will make it stick when you try to remove from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States