Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Real nice texture. I changed (like others) the powdered sugar to brown and then added sliced almonds to the top and fresh blueberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I omitted the nuts without changing anything else about the recipe. 1 hour was too long in my oven- next time i'll take it out after 45 min- but it was still an excellent coffee cake that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDYLEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
It was ok, just not what I was looking for. I'll try again, next Christmas, but next time try it with brown sugar, some raisins, and some confectioner's sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was an amazing recipe! I was a little weirded out by the sour cream, but was quickly straighten out when I tasted it! This recipe has excellant taste and texture! Even my picky son ate it! 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I really liked this recipe! The cake was moist and had just the right amount of sweetness (not too sweet, which I don't like). The house was filled with the smell of warm cinnamon... I make a cake or muffins every Sunday night for a quick breakfast my husband can grab in the mornings and he loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Exactly the coffee cake I was looking for. I baked it in a bundt and layed in extra brown sugar and cinnamon. Ate it all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was delicious. It was easy to make and it was a great dish. I highly recommend it to any novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great cake! I took the cake batter and gently folded in 2 cups of blueberries, followed by a light brown sugar topping on the top of cake. I checked the cake after 40 minutes....and decided it needed 5 more minutes, as many other people have suggested. Since I added fruit to the batter, I left it as written, as I wanted a stiffer cake batter. Superb! As with any cake, overworking the batter will develop the gluten in the flour, resulting in a dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I halved the recipe and added a couple spoonfuls more sour cream than the recipe calls for. Baked for about 40 min in a 9x4 loaf pan. It turned out quite moist and light. Can't wait to try it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysparkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I skipped the powdered sugar and did the brown sugar/ cinnamon mix because that's what I know. Didn't use any nuts because I didn't have any. My daughter did the mixing and when I checked it seemed a bit to thick in consistency to me so I added extra vanilla and some milk until I thought it was okay. Other than that, it came out fine. I have had better but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern-Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States