Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great cake! I took the cake batter and gently folded in 2 cups of blueberries, followed by a light brown sugar topping on the top of cake. I checked the cake after 40 minutes....and decided it needed 5 more minutes, as many other people have suggested. Since I added fruit to the batter, I left it as written, as I wanted a stiffer cake batter. Superb! As with any cake, overworking the batter will develop the gluten in the flour, resulting in a dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I halved the recipe and added a couple spoonfuls more sour cream than the recipe calls for. Baked for about 40 min in a 9x4 loaf pan. It turned out quite moist and light. Can't wait to try it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysparkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I skipped the powdered sugar and did the brown sugar/ cinnamon mix because that's what I know. Didn't use any nuts because I didn't have any. My daughter did the mixing and when I checked it seemed a bit to thick in consistency to me so I added extra vanilla and some milk until I thought it was okay. Other than that, it came out fine. I have had better but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern-Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
WOW this was great!!! I brought it in to my salon and it was gone in 15 min! I used a loaf pan and was glad I did since it fell apart just a little when I took it out of the pan. Also added some brown sugar to the filling. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
i use brown sugar instead of cinfection sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
BEST Coffee Cake EVER! And I don't mean the best coffee cake I have ever made, because this is the first coffee cake I've ever made, but best coffee cake I've ever TASTED. Wow! I too added an extra 1/4 cup of sour cream (for a total of 1 1/4 cups) and doubled the cinnamon mixture for a thicker layer inside. For the cinnamon mixture, I omitted the nuts, since I didn't have any that were fresh, swapped brown sugar for confectioner's sugar, and added 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup to help the mixture stay a little gooey once the cake was cool. I checked the cake after 30 minutes and cooked it for a total of 45 minutes. Then once the cake was cooled for 15 minutes, I glazed it with a mix of confectioner's sugar, a little water, and a drop of lemon extract. Delicious!! The boyfriend was thrilled, too! I will make this recipe again and again. Thanks, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I quadrupled this recipe for 10 teenagers staying at my house and baked it in 2 9X13 pans. Delicious! Moist! Easy! - I did add a bit more sour cream than called for. I also had trouble smoothing the top layer over the crumbly middle (which I used 1/2 XX sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, cinnamon and no nuts). The TIP: wet fingers often to smooth top layer of batter - works perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This has a gorgeous taste and texture, I added 1/8 teaspoon salt, substituted brown sugar for powdered and made them into muffins instead of a cake. Baked 30 min. CAme out devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Very nice and moist. I used half white flour and half whole wheat flour and half white sugar and half brown sugar so the color was like honey. You could not taste the wheat at all! I only had 3/4 cup of sour cream so I added a little heavy cream and milk for moisture. It was difficult to spread(almost like a bread dough) but since it rose nicely and everyone loved it, I will have to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apricot20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I loved it! For so long I looked for a coffee cake recipe that reminded me of an elementary school breakfast. I found it! I took the suggestions as others did and used brown sugar instead of confetioners sugar, and added cinnamon to the mix. I thought the mix wasn't enough, so I doubled the mix. I cooked it uncovered for 50 mins, then lightly covered it for an additional 45 mins. It turned out great. It had a wonderful smell of cinnamon. Great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States