Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe was good. I did not quite get the ribbon through the center of the cake partly because i did not have a bunt pan and quite honestly the cake itself is moist and tasty enough to do without the ribbon and just be sprinkled with cinnamon sugar or crumbs on top. I also left out the sour cream and it was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Yum!! Only change I made was increased the sour cream to 1 1/4 cup super moist. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I have no idea what makes this cake Jewish, but it is very tasty and easy. Like other reviewers, I omitted the nuts, used brown sugar instead of confectioners, and shortened the baking time to around 45 minutes. I doubled the amount of cinnamon/sugar, although I ended up using not quite all of the doubled amount. I inadvertently doubled the melted butter to 4 Tbl (because I didn't carefully preread the recipe and I thought the butter would get mixed with the cin/sugar). This was actually a tasty mistake - the cake was extremely moist with a nice crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I thought this cake needed more sugar. I substituted brown sugar for the white powdered. I'm going to add a 1/4 cup more white sugar to the dough and mix the brown sugar with a tblsp of powdered sugar for the topping. This cake is very moist so i will make it again with the noted changes. I'll get back to you on how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quen10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is practically the recipe i grew up with my mom making except for the topping we use 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 granulated white sugar with the cinnamon and nuts. I personally dont use the nuts and its still a wonderful recipe! We also do this recipe in a bundt pan, i like the presentation better. the hardest part is getting it out in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloud2sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Real nice texture. I changed (like others) the powdered sugar to brown and then added sliced almonds to the top and fresh blueberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I omitted the nuts without changing anything else about the recipe. 1 hour was too long in my oven- next time i'll take it out after 45 min- but it was still an excellent coffee cake that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDYLEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
It was ok, just not what I was looking for. I'll try again, next Christmas, but next time try it with brown sugar, some raisins, and some confectioner's sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was an amazing recipe! I was a little weirded out by the sour cream, but was quickly straighten out when I tasted it! This recipe has excellant taste and texture! Even my picky son ate it! 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I really liked this recipe! The cake was moist and had just the right amount of sweetness (not too sweet, which I don't like). The house was filled with the smell of warm cinnamon... I make a cake or muffins every Sunday night for a quick breakfast my husband can grab in the mornings and he loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States