Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by yams
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
is a pretty nice cake. wasnt as easy to pour into the pan to bake, was a bit heavy...but luckily it turned out ok. i wish i had used brown sugar instead of confectioners as many have suggested here. the confectioners looked creepy on top of the cake. i also added some mixed frozen berries to the middle walnut mixture and it gave it a bit of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very delicious, moist coffee cake. The cake itself is not too sweet. I made a few changes to suit my husbands' request for a coffee cake that tastes like a cinnamon roll. I didn't have nuts and used brown sugar instead of confectioner's for the filling. I made it in a loaf pan. And after it came out of the oven I put a streusel on top (over the brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful moist texture. Would have been even better with more cinnamon. I think I'll have to try it with jam for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a really good coffee cake.I did follow the advise of other reviewers and used brown sugar instead of confectioners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I took a lot of suggestions from the reviews so it changed the recipe a bit! But overall great recipe....fantastic recipe with the following changes (using yogurt instead of sour cream and 1 1/4 cup yogurt) and cinnamon instead of powdered sugar.... and that's it! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was very good. I did what other reviewers did and used brown sugar instead of powdered sugar. I also doubled the amount of brown sugar mixture (and added a little butter)because I like a nice thick inner layer and crumble on top. It is a little hard to spread but once it is in the oven it all evens out. Thought this was great and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I'm going to try not to ever make this again. I ate the whole thing in a day. I made a few changes to the recipe. I omitted the nuts since my family doesn't like them (not that it mattered, since they barely got any!!!) and I accidentally mixed the melted butter in with the brown sugar (instead of powdered) & cinnamon mixture. I had to drop & "swirl" it around the top of the middle & top layers of the cake to spread it around (somewhat). But it ended up looking marvelous & marbled. I didn't like the top after everything was done so I mixed some powdered sugar, water & vanilla & made a drizzled topping that was a perfect compliment. VERY MOIST indeed.... I will try never to make again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Delicious! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Fantastic coffee cake. Not too sweet, easy to make..I'd been using another recipe for years but this one is more calorie kind than the old recipe and nothing was lsot in the taste. I did add a bit more of the filling ingredients for a more satisfying taste experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe was good. I did not quite get the ribbon through the center of the cake partly because i did not have a bunt pan and quite honestly the cake itself is moist and tasty enough to do without the ribbon and just be sprinkled with cinnamon sugar or crumbs on top. I also left out the sour cream and it was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States