Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This cake is bad news! You won't be able to stop eating it! I doubled the recipe and it is half way gone! The only change I did was brown sugar instead of confectioner's and I added a little bit of milk to the batter (it was so thick, I was afraid the cake would have been dry had I not added the milk). No need for worries! The cake is delicious! Wonderful buttery flavor and moist, very moist! I'll keep on baking it! It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake makes frequent appearances on the breakfast buffet at my B&B- the only substitution is plain yogurt with a touch of milk for the sour cream as I cannot find sour cream in Italy and the addition of fresh fruit (apples, peaches, nectarines, etc.) to the middle layer of streusel filling. It is always well received by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I added 3/4 tsp salt, used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and used a nut mixture of various roasted nuts, some of which were salted. I also used regular white sugar in the nut mix. SO GOOD. This recipe has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great flavor. I doubled the recipe for my 9x13 pan. When I added all of that flour, it was really, really stiff. I added a 1/2 cup of buttermilk to loosen it and make it spreadable. It was still a pretty dry cake. I will try to tweak it a bit next time - less flour, I think. I also added 1/2 t of salt to give the flavors some dimension. Used brown sugar instead of confectioners sugar. I will add a crumble topping next time. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was awesome! the only thing I changed was using brown sugar instead of confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kierstynn S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was some of the best coffee cake I've ever had! I substituted brown sugar for the confectioners sugar as well and used a little over a cup of light sour cream. Everyone that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It was the best coffee cake I've ever had. My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomkins Cove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The only thing wrong with this recipe is that it's very addicting! And brown sugar instead of the confectioner's sugar is definately the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELENSTRUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Great recipe, but I changed the powdered sugar to brown sugar and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecinaj

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States