Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by arm90
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good recipe but I doubled the cinnamon mix and it definitely made it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arm90

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We run a bed and breakfast. I've made this cake perhaps 50 times. It is fantastic. Like many (take the hint) I subbed brown sugar for the powdered. I add an extra teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I doubled the vanilla and added 1/2 teaspoon of butter extract. I would check it at 50 minutes. I loosely put a piece of foil over the top for the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Lucio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I had to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream (I cant seem to find it here in UAE) and it came out excellent! I have made it twice now and I have had nothing but rave reviews. Its not too sweet which is a huge plus for those who dislike like traditional sweets and cakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is my favorite cake ... delicious! I actually mix half of the nut mixture into the cake batter and then add the rest on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe went together beautifully! I opted for brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar and did not put in walnuts to satisfy picky kids. For a nice thick and tall coffee bundt cake, I doubled the recipe and it worked perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good cake. A little sweet, but we like it. I use brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Good basic coffee cake. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was a very nice coffee cake that had a nice buttery flavor and moist texture. I did add a little salt, but still the cake lacked a little something. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it still was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had high hopes for this based on the reviews. I made it for overnight guests and it was just okay. I thought the cake part lacked something and was on the dry side. You definitely have to have something to drink with it. I even added a 1/4 cup more sour cream as many suggested and took it out of the oven at 55 minutes. Maybe I was just expecting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I decided to give this recipe a try this morning. I used brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar, as others had suggested. I also added a bit extra of sour cream as other suggested as well. It was moist, tasty and pretty simple to whip out as I was half awake sipping my coffee. I think next time I will try the original amount of sour cream, it was alittle too moist in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I revised this because I do wheat free and dairy free cooking. Also cut back on the sugar and butter and it turned out great. I used 1/2 cup of sweet potato (can) or you can use apple sauce instead of butter. Instead of sour cream I used soy yogurt, and I used my own GF flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States