Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Didn't have a 9x9 pan so used a 9x13. There wasn't enough crumble and batter for two full layers, but it still turned out delicious. Just reduced baking time to ~35-40min. Cake was moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Rav reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I use chocolate chips instea of nuts, yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Brilliant! I made it for the first time today, and used hung yoghurt as a substitute for sour cream. The best part? How good the house smells while the cake is in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is pretty good. It is not overly sweet, it's relatively moist. By baking in a 9x9 pan it doesn't look very pretty in terms of in the pan or serving a slice, and the top and edges get pretty browned by the time the center is done. I used vegetable oil instead of butter. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayonnaise as that's what I had. I added 1 tsp salt. I used brown sugar instead of confectioners sugar in the crumble. And I used pecans. It was done at about 50-52 mins. Will make again but will use a bundt pan or some other decorative muffin-type tin, just worried the brown sugar filling will make it stick when you try to remove from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My biggest disappointment was not getting to eat that much of it - my boyfriend and roommate gobbled it all up! I used brown sugar instead of confectioner's sugar, and veggie oil instead of butter after reading the reviews here and it turned out great. Very yummy. Also I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's all I had lying around, and it was just as yummy! Next time I make this I will probably use both pecans and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have tried many coffe cake recipes over the last few years to try to find the one I remember eating as a kid. This one is the best. I used brown sugar as the topping and it was perfect with coffee! A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this recipe and it was very good. However, my husband and I both agree that it is missing someting. I am going to continue to look, but may use this one as a base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ok, full disclosure here, we made a number of changes First, we halved the batch for my small family, and cooked it in the toaster oven in a small round cake pan. Also, we are cutting down on our sugar, and since coffee cake is overly sweet to balance coffee, I often find i can cut the sugar in half. I think that next time I will only cut the white sugar in half, but only cut the powdered sugar by 1/4. I did half whole wheat and half white flour. And since we do not eat nuts around here, I substituted a 1/2 cup of crushed dried raspberries. Overall, it was a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States