Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was good. I replaced the powdered sugar with brown sugar like others did, and since I was out of nuts I used a 1/2 cup coconut for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
From Australia This cake was amazing! I have never made a sour cream cake before, but thought I'd try it for my sisters birthday. It was a hit, and I was begged to re-make it the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This cake is easy to make and tastes great! I substitute butter, sour cream for vegetable oil and non fat yogurt respectively. It's still moist and taste wonderful. I'm sure I will bake this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akiko Ono

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
really good and really moist I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
FABULOUS, FABULOUS AND SO DELICIOUS! A NEVER FAIL FAVORITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I thought this was pretty good. I just wasn't crazy about the confectioner's sugar. Next time, I will try it with the brown sugar instead. I baked mine in a 2 qt baking dish and an hour was too long, the cake was too dry. 45 min. would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This cake did impress my workmates for morning tea - they loved it!!! A definite keeper. I also used low fat sour cream and brown sugar in the topping and cooked in an 8x8" pan for allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a wonderful coffee cake! I too opted for the brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Also used light sour cream. The batter is very thick so it's a little difficult to spread especially when spreading the final layer atop the crumb mixture. But it turns out incredibly moist and LIGHT! Checked it at 35 minutes... let it cook 5 more and it was perfect. Cooled for 10 minutes before cutting. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Wonderful recipe-- I got my Jewish friends' approval! They said that it's just like Mom's recipe. I also used brown suger instead of confectioner's suger. plus the amount of sour cream should be more. (even though I used smaller pan: 8x 8.5, I feel the dough is not enough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Excellent. Used half a cup of fat free sourcream and half regular. Very moist and light. Has become a favorite. Definitely use the brown sugar instead of the confectioner's sugar. Got rave reviews at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States