Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
No need to spread melted butter over the top -- cake is very rich without it. I baked for 40 minutes (1 hr. is way too long) Also, I used brown sugar instead of powdered and dusted the cake with powdered after if came out of the oven for a pretty lookng cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Baking time is WAY too long, 40-45 min tops, needs more sour cream, but otherwise a simple and very good coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I read this morning about the Jewish Coffee Cake and the reviews sounded great!! The mistake I made was forgetting everyone's comment about checking the cake after about 45 minutes!! I waited one hour and it was super dry!! I will try it again next weekend and will be careful to check it much, much sooner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This is the best recipe yet! I am making it again for a school fundraiser/bake sale. It is moist, delicious, and absolutely perfect. I even served it as a dessert the second day after baking it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I follwed the other reviews and used brown sugar and made a struesal type topping, you really need to watch the cooking time I baked for 45 minutes and it was a little dry will make again and shorten the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I also used brown sugar in place of the powdered sugar with good results. I even think you could half the topping amounts (nut mixture) and only sprinkle it on the top instead of putting some in the middle AND on the top. There was no need to drizzle the melted butter on the top. If desired- you could simply cut in a small amount of cold butter into the nut mixture and sprinkle it over the top that way. It will produce a crumbly topping. I do this on most of my recipes that call for streusel toppings. Baked mine in an 8x8 pan for 45 minutes with good results. An hour would have been too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This is a very rich, very tasty coffee cake. I used brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar for the topping, and one-half cup of walnuts instead of one cup, and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
VERY VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This was too dry for my taste and there was not enough flavor to it compared to other coffee cakes I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
A great cake! We all had seconds. Mine was completely cooked in 35 minutes, so check it way before an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States