Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Excellent. Best coffee cake recipe on this website. I've made this several times for friends and family & everyone loved it. I used pecans instead of walnuts and brown sugar in place of 10X. Served warm and lightly buttered is best! Thanks for keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I've made this twice now, and both times it's turned out wonderfully. Nice and moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Delicious recipe! If you are in the mood for something with a indulgent cinnamon taste but without the unecessary sweetness (and calories) of frosting, you need to try this one! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Delicious coffe cake! Despite what other said, I found this cake to be perfectly sweet. I wouldn't add any more sugar or decrease the amount called for. It came out very moist, I definitely will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
i was surprised by how great this recipe turned out. i had a large amount of organic sour cream that i needed to use up and wanted to make a sour cream pound cake with dried apricots but was unable to find my recipe so i decided on this. the texture is really nice. however i do agree with others about the sweetness. it could be a little more sweet but to me it was perfect because i tend to cut down the sugar in most recipes. i made it last night and it seems to taste better this morning. i cut off a piece and mircrowaved it for about 30 seconds and couldn't help but have a second serving. i used unsalted butter only because it is an old habit from culinary school and added about 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. i also creamed the sugar and butter together first before adding the eggs. it makes it a lot easier. i'll make another one for the coworkers tonight but this time i'll use brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar for the nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Did not really care for the taste. Will keep looking. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Good stuff! Next time I will probably double the nut mixture, and a little bit extra sour cream (2T maybe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Really good, I too had trouble with the nut mixture not sticking together, I'll try mixing with batter next time as suggested. I used a bundt pan and it turned out great also I added some brown sugar and fresh ground nutmeg in the nut mix and it was wonderful. I just made it and I can't wait to have a piece with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States