Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I don't understand giving 5 stars for a recipe that you end up changing, so I am rating this as "ok". I was hunting for a coffee cake recipe that resembled the ones from my youth, and gave this one a shot. I followed the recipe exactly, and I liked the taste of the final product, but found the texture to be quite thick, bordering on heavy. I am used to coffee cakes being rather light. In addition, it rose while baking SO much that the top was dark brown before the middle was baked sufficiently - and this was with my oven being precisely calibrated for temp and having the rack directly in the middle. I understand what the recipe is trying to accomplish, but I am looking for lighter recipe, and this one seemed a bit heavy handed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RWC4520
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was excellent! I used a cherry and blueberry filling in the middle and the streusel on top. The filling sank a good bit, so next time I will put about 2/3 of the batter in before the filling. I used a cup of nonfat Greek yogurt and added a half cup of lowfat sour cream. The cake was done in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It was really good. But based on the reviews, I used brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar. I also always use vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I increased the vanilla to a tablespoon and substituted brown sugar for the confectioner's sugar as per the advice of other reviewers. The flavor of the cake is lovely, but the cake itself turned out quite dry, even though I used an extra egg in the batter. I'm going to have to finagle this recipe a bit to get it perfect next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
great coffee cake. I was looking for one that had sour cream because they always turn out the best. Batter was soft and creamy yellow. Didn't have nuts so just put a layer of brown sugar and cinnamon in the middle. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
great quick recipe.. check at 30 min b/c mine was way done, in a brand new oven perfectly calibrated. ONE HOUR would be way too long and dried out...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried this for the first time Easter morning. It was a big hit! My son doesn't like nuts but likes the flavor so I used ground walnuts in the topping. It turned out really well. I also cooked it on a bundt pan for just 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was a delicious, moist cake even though I forgot to save filling for the top, the recipe was very forgiving and my family woofed it down. I substituted pecans for walnuts yum! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamm Holben-Czarka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Loved it! I do t like nuts, so I left those out and double the filling, saving a bit to put on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very good! i did listen to others and used brown sugar. One other thing i did different, just because i had apples to use up, was to dice some granny smiths and saute in a little butter and cinnamon sugar. added to cake between the layers. YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States