Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Exactly the coffee cake I was looking for. I baked it in a bundt and layed in extra brown sugar and cinnamon. Ate it all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was delicious. It was easy to make and it was a great dish. I highly recommend it to any novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great cake! I took the cake batter and gently folded in 2 cups of blueberries, followed by a light brown sugar topping on the top of cake. I checked the cake after 40 minutes....and decided it needed 5 more minutes, as many other people have suggested. Since I added fruit to the batter, I left it as written, as I wanted a stiffer cake batter. Superb! As with any cake, overworking the batter will develop the gluten in the flour, resulting in a dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I halved the recipe and added a couple spoonfuls more sour cream than the recipe calls for. Baked for about 40 min in a 9x4 loaf pan. It turned out quite moist and light. Can't wait to try it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysparkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I skipped the powdered sugar and did the brown sugar/ cinnamon mix because that's what I know. Didn't use any nuts because I didn't have any. My daughter did the mixing and when I checked it seemed a bit to thick in consistency to me so I added extra vanilla and some milk until I thought it was okay. Other than that, it came out fine. I have had better but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern-Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
WOW this was great!!! I brought it in to my salon and it was gone in 15 min! I used a loaf pan and was glad I did since it fell apart just a little when I took it out of the pan. Also added some brown sugar to the filling. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
i use brown sugar instead of cinfection sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
BEST Coffee Cake EVER! And I don't mean the best coffee cake I have ever made, because this is the first coffee cake I've ever made, but best coffee cake I've ever TASTED. Wow! I too added an extra 1/4 cup of sour cream (for a total of 1 1/4 cups) and doubled the cinnamon mixture for a thicker layer inside. For the cinnamon mixture, I omitted the nuts, since I didn't have any that were fresh, swapped brown sugar for confectioner's sugar, and added 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup to help the mixture stay a little gooey once the cake was cool. I checked the cake after 30 minutes and cooked it for a total of 45 minutes. Then once the cake was cooled for 15 minutes, I glazed it with a mix of confectioner's sugar, a little water, and a drop of lemon extract. Delicious!! The boyfriend was thrilled, too! I will make this recipe again and again. Thanks, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I quadrupled this recipe for 10 teenagers staying at my house and baked it in 2 9X13 pans. Delicious! Moist! Easy! - I did add a bit more sour cream than called for. I also had trouble smoothing the top layer over the crumbly middle (which I used 1/2 XX sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, cinnamon and no nuts). The TIP: wet fingers often to smooth top layer of batter - works perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This has a gorgeous taste and texture, I added 1/8 teaspoon salt, substituted brown sugar for powdered and made them into muffins instead of a cake. Baked 30 min. CAme out devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States