Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great taste! This cake rated rave reviews from guests. I made 1.5 times the filling recipe, and this turned out to be exactly right for the filling layers, with enough left over to sprinkle over the top of the cake. This will be one of my "special occasion" choices again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I liked the cake, was moist and flavorful...but had a slight aftertaste from the sour cream...I will make again and sub yogurt for the sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was fabulous! I did modify it based on the ingredients I had and it still turned out great. I only had reduced fat sour cream (probably a good thing since it calls for so much butter). I took the advice of others and used brown sugar for the filling. I also didn't have walnuts and only a handful of almonds on hand. I chopped up the almonds in the food processor and added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the mixture just for a little texture since I was low on nuts. My husband ate the whole thing is a couple days and asked when I was making it again! Can't wait to try it with walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This cake is AWESOME! I put all the batter into a 9x13" pan, and then sprinkled with 1/2 of nut mix. Then I made a 2nd batch of batter, and spread over the top. To the remaining nut mixture I added 1 Tbs cinnamon, 1 Tbs powdered sugar, and 1 Tbs brown sugar, and covered the top of batter with it. I also increased melted butter to 4 Tbs. , and drizzeld generously all over the top of the cake before baking. I found that an hour was a little long, so it should be checked at abot 35-45 minutes. This bakes up very thick, and is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy F.
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wowza! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using brown sugar as others reviewers suggested. This is one phenomenally moist cake with a wonderfully tasty topping. I think this is one of the best recipes I have ever found on this site. Thank you so much Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I will need to be very, very careful around this cake when I make it again. Absolutely delicious and great with a dark, bold coffee and some cold, sweet fruit like peaches or berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Excellent. The cake flew, didn't last long. Even my nephews ate it all. The change I made was brown sugar instead of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Yummy! I used amix of brown and regular sugar for the topping. I also baked in an 8x8 pan for 50 minutes. turned out woderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yams
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
is a pretty nice cake. wasnt as easy to pour into the pan to bake, was a bit heavy...but luckily it turned out ok. i wish i had used brown sugar instead of confectioners as many have suggested here. the confectioners looked creepy on top of the cake. i also added some mixed frozen berries to the middle walnut mixture and it gave it a bit of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States