Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I was going to make my great aunt's coffee cake for some company but didn't have a couple ingredients so i tried this. i didn't even finish my piece. my two guests did but i could tell by their faces that they were just being nice. which was confirmed when my husband got home and tasted. not sure if i did something wrong or if i'm just comparing it to my aunt's recipe and it doesn't measure up. would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very moist and thick! I didn't bother with the filling; just sprinkled a mixture of butter, brown sugar, and chopped walnuts on top. Only baked it about 35 minutes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This cake is fantastic! The proportions are just right. I removed the nuts in the filling 'cos my family doesn't like nuts, and added just one tsp more vanilla essence. Cake came out moist and creamy. I also made a cream cheese frosting to spread on top. So the cake has to be kept in the fridge, but it tastes good both hot and cold! Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great taste! This cake rated rave reviews from guests. I made 1.5 times the filling recipe, and this turned out to be exactly right for the filling layers, with enough left over to sprinkle over the top of the cake. This will be one of my "special occasion" choices again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I liked the cake, was moist and flavorful...but had a slight aftertaste from the sour cream...I will make again and sub yogurt for the sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was fabulous! I did modify it based on the ingredients I had and it still turned out great. I only had reduced fat sour cream (probably a good thing since it calls for so much butter). I took the advice of others and used brown sugar for the filling. I also didn't have walnuts and only a handful of almonds on hand. I chopped up the almonds in the food processor and added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the mixture just for a little texture since I was low on nuts. My husband ate the whole thing is a couple days and asked when I was making it again! Can't wait to try it with walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This cake is AWESOME! I put all the batter into a 9x13" pan, and then sprinkled with 1/2 of nut mix. Then I made a 2nd batch of batter, and spread over the top. To the remaining nut mixture I added 1 Tbs cinnamon, 1 Tbs powdered sugar, and 1 Tbs brown sugar, and covered the top of batter with it. I also increased melted butter to 4 Tbs. , and drizzeld generously all over the top of the cake before baking. I found that an hour was a little long, so it should be checked at abot 35-45 minutes. This bakes up very thick, and is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy F.
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wowza! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using brown sugar as others reviewers suggested. This is one phenomenally moist cake with a wonderfully tasty topping. I think this is one of the best recipes I have ever found on this site. Thank you so much Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I will need to be very, very careful around this cake when I make it again. Absolutely delicious and great with a dark, bold coffee and some cold, sweet fruit like peaches or berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States