Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by arm90
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good recipe but I doubled the cinnamon mix and it definitely made it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arm90

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We run a bed and breakfast in Minnesota. I've made this cake perhaps 20 times. It is fantastic. Like many (take the hint) I subbed the powdered sugar for brown. The batter is very thick and difficult to work with if you don't add a good 1/4 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I had to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream (I cant seem to find it here in UAE) and it came out excellent! I have made it twice now and I have had nothing but rave reviews. Its not too sweet which is a huge plus for those who dislike like traditional sweets and cakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is my favorite cake ... delicious! I actually mix half of the nut mixture into the cake batter and then add the rest on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe went together beautifully! I opted for brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar and did not put in walnuts to satisfy picky kids. For a nice thick and tall coffee bundt cake, I doubled the recipe and it worked perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good cake. A little sweet, but we like it. I use brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Good basic coffee cake. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was a very nice coffee cake that had a nice buttery flavor and moist texture. I did add a little salt, but still the cake lacked a little something. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it still was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had high hopes for this based on the reviews. I made it for overnight guests and it was just okay. I thought the cake part lacked something and was on the dry side. You definitely have to have something to drink with it. I even added a 1/4 cup more sour cream as many suggested and took it out of the oven at 55 minutes. Maybe I was just expecting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I decided to give this recipe a try this morning. I used brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar, as others had suggested. I also added a bit extra of sour cream as other suggested as well. It was moist, tasty and pretty simple to whip out as I was half awake sipping my coffee. I think next time I will try the original amount of sour cream, it was alittle too moist in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I revised this because I do wheat free and dairy free cooking. Also cut back on the sugar and butter and it turned out great. I used 1/2 cup of sweet potato (can) or you can use apple sauce instead of butter. Instead of sour cream I used soy yogurt, and I used my own GF flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States