Jewish Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
When I'm sick, I want chicken soup, made this and froze some, when my son got sick and I was away from home it made him feel better. He was well again in a day, even took some with him to work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was one of the most delicious soups I have ever had. Hubby loved it. Teenager loved and even the toddler kept coming back for more! The only thing I did differently was no parsnips. I also used a matzo ball and soup mix for the balls since apparently no one cooks jewish food around here. Took a week to find it. Will have to special order matzo meal online because I will be making this everytime I make chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Zamora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My daughter and I made this recipe and it turned out to be a keeper! Thank you so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Good recipe only I add 4 or 5 chicken feet for flavor and adds a jelly for richness... discard them after cooking....also garlic and peppercorns and celery root are added .Carrots and parsnips can be added to cook in broth in final 30 minutes.Serve with barley or matzo balls.Skim some fat off after a day or so in fridge..... The fat on dried bread makes a nice treat for birds in winter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This soup is fantastic. My only difference when I'm rushed for time is using a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made this during Passover, but forgot to review until now. I loved the fresh dill in this and will continue to make it every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
The longer this soup simmers, the more delicious it gets (sometimes I even make it a full day in advance), so if you only have a couple hours until you need to serve this, you might want to think twice. The blend of flavors is unforgettable, particularly when they all soak into the matzoh balls. (I like to put the matzoh balls in at least an hour before I serve the soup.) One shortcut I take is using a rotisserie chicken (meat only) and canned broth rather than start from scratch with the whole chicken in the pot, and the soup always turns out amazing. I've made this with parsnips a couple of times with good results. You really can't go wrong with this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I loved this soup althought the best thing for me was finding my mother's "heavy" matzo ball recipe. Hers were sinkers too and we loved them. She also never strained the soup but I guess with 5 hungry children, anything that filled the soup was a blessing. Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe twice. Once with the garlic and parsnips, once without the garlic and parsnips. I liked the latter. It's all about your personal taste, but it gave me a great foundation for lots of variations. For the Matzo balls, I made them smaller than the average. Smaller than a walnut... I like the little matzo balls and I also added some dried parsley to just give it a little color. Everything was excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe truly works! I made this for my husband yesterday and this morning he was able to go back to work. I made one substitution however, a chayote instead of parsnip. He hates parsnips but loved how great the soup made him feel. Thanks for this recipe, it was worth the time it took to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States