Jewish Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Who needs Campbell's?!?!? This is easy to make and very good! I opted to leave out the celery (not a fan) and added more garlic (whole cloves, not crushed) also used egg noodles in lieu of matzoh balls. Didn't even have to "cut the chicken into pieces" because by the time I finished cooking it the chicken pretty much just fell to shredded pieces! (you do have to be VERY careful to pick out all of the small bones before returning the meat to the broth!). I also added cooking sherry and parsley to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Delicious and Easy! The only change I would make is to try and remove as much of the skin from the chicken before throwing the chicken and veggies into the pot. It just ended up being harder than I thought it would be to "skim the fat off". I cooked everything in the pot for three hours total and the bones were very easy to remove from the meat. Very yummy and has a large yeild. It will last me for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
An easy & healthy soup. We're always trying to incorporate more veggies in our diet & this soup helps us accomplish that. A low-fat dinner that everyone eats up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
GREAT RECIPE!!! I love the "sinkers." Thick, heavy Matzoh balls are the best! And I eat EVERYTHING. That means parsley, parsnips, and anything else added, including, guess what--the skeleton. Ugh... But simply delicious and very gratifying. Another suggestion: If you have a good bite, get into the bones, or suck the meat right off the bird. By now it's tender, right? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We LOVE this soup! As I type this I am making a huge batch for us as we are all sick. This soup usually makes us feel better- settles upset tummies, clears out plugged up sinuses, and makes us sleepy. The only change I make is that I use 3 medium onions, 3 parsnips, no carrots, and no matzo balls. Per the suggestion of another person I stab the onions with a fork (I tried it with the parsnips today, too). Looking forward to a bowl of soup later! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
In Israel practically everyone uses dill weed and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
In every way I have been taught about chicken soup or chicken based soup ..... I was told to flavor it with garlic as they use this to avoid colds ---- don't knock it, it works. I have not had a cold in years and I am now turning 67. Add ginger to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Great recipe, although in our family we never add garlic. Dill weed and parsnip go into the soup in Eastern Europe, it's the version I grew up with. To make the process a little easier, simply tie up a bunch of dill (I also add parsley) and drop into the pot. Same for onion -- no need to chop. Peel it, pierce with a knife in a couple of spots, and drop it in. Discard boiled dill and onion when done. Garnish the soup with fresh chopped dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lena-lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
wow--made this soup for my jewish husband who was sick--he was better the next day--this will really cure what ails you--I am a pharmacist perhaps I should print this out and give it to my customers--hummmm--thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I don't know what region the author is from, but in the south, we Jews use the following ingredients for REAL Jewish chicken soup: cut-up chicken, carrots, celery, and onions. parsnips and dill weed? No way! Of course, the matzoh balls are great. I like your recipe for them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States