Jewish Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Excellent, whole family enjoyed and no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Amazing, amazing, amazing. We make a double batch and freeze quarts that we mix with manichewitz matzo ball soup whenever we want some awesome chicken soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I came across this recipe searching for matzo ball recipes since I wanted to try making them from scratch vs. a mix. I haven't made them yet but wanted to comment on the soup recipe. It's interesting to read what others put in their soup. My Russian Jewish Great Grandma made hers with whole chicken, celery, parsnips, turnips, carrots, onions, dill and "flanken" (I later learned that flanken = short ribs). You only use a few pieces of the short ribs to give it some added depth & flavor. For me dill is the most important ingredient for without it, it simply doesn't taste like Jewish Chicken soup. It comes down to what you're used to or what you grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The parsnip gave it a flavor that I did not like. Next time I will leave out the parsnip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this for my roommate, who came down with a nasty flu bug, and thought, "Holy cow, I'm going to have to freeze some", because it makes so darn much. Now, I'm extremely grateful it does, because roomie has passed the bug to me, and this soup is perfect for those under the weather days. I'm definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It was very easy to make and delicious. I also added some egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! My mother and grandmother (both Jewish) made chicken soup like this ~ they never used garlic! Always used parsnip, dill & parsley along with the other veggies. The only difference ~ never cut up the onion,parsnip dill & parsley ~ threw it in and discarded after it was all cooked.. Actually they ate the parsnip! Also good with fine noodles instead of matzo balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was wonderful, thank you. I've made stock previously but always boiled it for hours. I noticed a big difference with the simmering. Thank you, great tip! I didn't add the dill but only because we didn't have any. I strained the stock into another pot and then picked the meat off the bones when it was manageable. Unfortunately, I ate the legs/thigh with some salt because I'm such a guts but, hey, cook's treat! But I used the breast meat in the soup and everybody loved it. Thanks for sharing Layla! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Bland, Matzoh bombs. OK for stock, soup was just OK. Not much flavor. I will try and jazz this up tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States