Jewish Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cathy J
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The best cake. I used Powdered sugar and orange juice - omited butter from glaze and drizzled over top - see picture. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very moist cake. Good even without glaze! I used apple cider instead of orange juice in the cake and the glaze to give it more apple flavor. Also cut cinnamon to 1 tablespooon - that was plenty! Will add nuts to the apple mixture next time. And maybe a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I have made this cake for over 30 years, and is still the one favorite in the family! Was suprised to see the recipe here. Is a must try one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This cake is outstanding easy to make and delicious.I will be making this cake for a long time. This cake needs another star!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This cake was good but not to-die-for. I think, however, that was mainly due to over baking. You do NOT need an hour and 25 mins. This makes the crust rock hard and it doesn't absorb the glaze. I think if it was baked an hour and absorbed the glaze it would be a lot moister. I'll give it another shot and try that next time, but if that doesn't wow me, I'll be moving on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy! I have made this 2x in the past 2 weeks - first time according to recipe (except I cut bake time down to 1 hour), 2nd time I substituted 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 c of the oil. Second time, I made this in the Perfect brownie pan (one that makes the individual brownies as it bakes). I cut the time down to 45 minutes as the metal is touching more sides. Great for treating people at work this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very moist and a great cinnamon taste throughout but not overbearing. I would use the glaze, it adds to the favor of the cake. Great for church events, family events and more. A real keeper. I would back off the time, just a bit, but our over runs hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum! Used apple cider vs. OJ as recommended. Glazed after it cooled & removed fr the bundt pan. Will probably use loaf pans next time & glaze while hot. This is an excellent/hardy cake. Very nice for brunch or dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this cake! I've made it four times in as many weeks. It's a hit and now my signature cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Moist cake the topping after it's baked is a great idea. I didn't change the recipe at all but do feel the apples do not need 2 tbls of cinnamin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States