Jewish Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cathy J
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The best cake. I used Powdered sugar and orange juice - omited butter from glaze and drizzled over top - see picture. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very moist cake. Good even without glaze! I used apple cider instead of orange juice in the cake and the glaze to give it more apple flavor. Also cut cinnamon to 1 tablespooon - that was plenty! Will add nuts to the apple mixture next time. And maybe a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I have made this cake for over 30 years, and is still the one favorite in the family! Was suprised to see the recipe here. Is a must try one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This cake is outstanding easy to make and delicious.I will be making this cake for a long time. This cake needs another star!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This cake was good but not to-die-for. I think, however, that was mainly due to over baking. You do NOT need an hour and 25 mins. This makes the crust rock hard and it doesn't absorb the glaze. I think if it was baked an hour and absorbed the glaze it would be a lot moister. I'll give it another shot and try that next time, but if that doesn't wow me, I'll be moving on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy! I have made this 2x in the past 2 weeks - first time according to recipe (except I cut bake time down to 1 hour), 2nd time I substituted 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 c of the oil. Second time, I made this in the Perfect brownie pan (one that makes the individual brownies as it bakes). I cut the time down to 45 minutes as the metal is touching more sides. Great for treating people at work this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very moist and a great cinnamon taste throughout but not overbearing. I would use the glaze, it adds to the favor of the cake. Great for church events, family events and more. A real keeper. I would back off the time, just a bit, but our over runs hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum! Used apple cider vs. OJ as recommended. Glazed after it cooled & removed fr the bundt pan. Will probably use loaf pans next time & glaze while hot. This is an excellent/hardy cake. Very nice for brunch or dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this cake! I've made it four times in as many weeks. It's a hit and now my signature cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Moist cake the topping after it's baked is a great idea. I didn't change the recipe at all but do feel the apples do not need 2 tbls of cinnamin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States