Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is by far the best apple cake I have ever tasted...not sweet..just perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
love this recipe, made it for rosh hashanah, changed it alittle...added 6apples, in flour mixture addes 1tbsp of cinamon, I soaked apples in lemon juice and rum, used brown sugar instead of white..cake came out very most...my kids loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! This turned out beautifully - made exactly as the recipe directed. Had a dense, pound cake type feel to it. I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I made this as the recipe states..it was easy to make and baked perfectly..Next time I would add more apples, and maybe add an orange glaze, as there is orange juice in it, but it is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Maclean-Mosher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
i have made this cake with apples five times. then i started to try other fruit the apple is the best. it is very quick and easy to make and it is a showy cake! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This recipe is really good. I got rave reviews. I would give this five stars but I made some changes like others had suggested (from Erin on 3/22/05): I used 5 apples instead of 3, I used apple sauce instead of vegetable oil, I kept the dry ingredients separate, and then added them to the wet ingredients. Finally I put a glaze on top after the cake cooled. My husband is still raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe is a good reference, but I ALWAYS up the apples. I typically use at least 10, and I use various types. I make very thin layers of batter, and dense layers of apples. I end up having 3 layers of both. This cake is usually better the day after it's made, but if it sits too long (it usually doesn't make it in our house) it starts to taste funky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made this cake straight from the recipe and it was heavenly. My book club absolutely loved it, and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I have been making this cake and variations of it for 25 years. As has been pointed out, it can take a lot of add ins. I always use four cups of apples and more cinnamon. Also, I bake it at 300 for 1 hour and 45 minutes and it is always perfect. If you want a real slice of heaven, substitute fresh peaches for your summer picnics - delicious. This is always the favorite when taken to any event. It is a heavy cake and gets better with each day - if you can keep it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States