Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
LOVED IT! I used mini bundt pans to make the recipe easy to share. They only took about 30 minutes to bake, making 10 little cakes. Because the pans were small, I cut the apple slices in half. Other than that, I followed the recipe making no changes to the ingredients or the temperature. Thank you Shirleyo for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was very good. Used 3/4 c coconut oil and 1/4 c sour cream instead of vegetable oil. Decreased sugar to 2 cups. Increased number of apples. Also used apple cider instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent, very moist. I used pineapple juice in place of the orange juice. I always use more than 3 apples when making this cake and today I used two pears as well as 3 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
really nice plain cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I always double this recipe, and always use 4 apples per cake. This cake freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This cake was melt in your mouth moist and delicious. Best apple cake recipe on the site. Try it... you won't be disappointed, I promise! Thanks so much, shirleyo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for the first time after picking 25 pounds of apples. I increased the apples to 5, used a combination of Fiji and Braeburn and used apple cider instead of orange juice. It was wonderful. I gave some to my son's in-laws and they have been asking for more ever since. It was flavorful, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
wonderful receipe! I used 4 small loaf pans and it took less than 30 min of baking. I used 6 apples. lots of cinimmon and sugar like others recommended, and substituted lemon juice instead of the orange juice. it tasted like an apple pie filling and was great even a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Just finished having a slice while still warm from the oven. This cake is delicious, nice and moist. The changes I made were to use half brown sugar and half white, for a total of two cups. Also used half cup applesauce and half cup oil. I added allspice, nutmeg and clove since I like it a bit more spicy. I used about two ups diced various apples that I can on hand and did not layer. Just mixed all the wet ingredients into the dry ones and added the diced apples in the end. Baked for 50 minutes in a 9X13 tray. Will definitely make this one again, with less sugar next time and will try it with diced peaches when they come into season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe! I make it for my mother, she absolutely loves it, and anybody that tries it is sure to compliment me on how good it is. I only do a couple of things differently, mostly because I had to- we don't have a tube pan, so I use a bundt pan instead and I alternate the layers of batter and apples so that the apples are all on the inside. It makes for a very moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadeet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States