Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I have been making this cake and variations of it for 25 years. As has been pointed out, it can take a lot of add ins. I always use four cups of apples and more cinnamon. Also, I bake it at 300 for 1 hour and 45 minutes and it is always perfect. If you want a real slice of heaven, substitute fresh peaches for your summer picnics - delicious. This is always the favorite when taken to any event. It is a heavy cake and gets better with each day - if you can keep it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
It was okay. I added 2 extra granny smiths per reviews. I thought it was too heavy and not sweet enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Good recipe, but needs tweaking, as other reviewers have stated. I substituted applesauce for all the oil, used 5 medium Granny Smith apples, used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour in place of 1 cup all-purpose flour, cut back the sugar to 2 cups, added 1/2 cup each of raisins and chopped walnuts. Soaked the raisins in the egg/juice/vanilla mixture while I peeled and sliced the apples thinly, mixed the nuts with the dry ingredients, added the applesauce, then the other wet mixture to the dry, baked in 10" tube pan for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Absolutely fantastic. I followed advice and used 5 apples and honestly, mine must have been small because I totally could have thrown in a few more. More cinnamon and less sugar too. Substitued applesauce for the oil and it came out PERFECT. We couldnt wait for it to cool completely before having some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This came out exactly as I was hoping! It had a beautiful texture and the taste was phenominal. My husband was pleased too, and he was expecting it to be bland. I did use brown sugar instead of white, I didn't have enough. I also upped the cinnamon and added fresh nutmeg and allspice. I just finished a piece with my coffee and it was heaven. The taste improves the next day. I don't know if I'll be able to tell how it tastes the third day- my husband will probably finish off the last half today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I went to a little coffee house one day and asked, "What kind of cake is that?" The employee answered, "Oh, it's a Jewish Apple Cake." So I bought it and I was hooked on the darn thing. I thought to myself, "wouldn't it be cheaper if I made it myself?" Probably not! But I made the cake anyway and it was just like the cake in the little coffee house. So glad I found this recipe. I will make for our annual office holiday party this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great, easy cake. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
OUTSTANDING! The 1st time I've made such a cake; it was for a lady at work (for her birthday). Everyone RAVED! It is delicious! The lady who requested the cake said it was the best she ever had! Thanks so much for the GREAT recipe and the GREAT advice from the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
this is a great cake bit heavy but that only adds to the belly filler feeling , for even better cake substitute two or more apples for pears and carry the recipe as normal , magnifico!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This recipe is wonderful, however I did make a some changes based on reading others' reviews: 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2, I used 5 apples instead of 3 (Granny Smith), I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, I used apple sauce instead of vegetable oil (I found Granny Smith apple sauce, so I used that), I kept the dry ingredients separate, and then added them to the wet ingredients, and finally I dusted with confectioners' sugar after the cake cooled. Also, I cut the apples first, and put them in a bowl of water with a few drops of lemon juice to keep them from turning brown while I'm making the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States