Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe is marvellous... One of the best apple cake that I have ever tasted. I tried out the suggestions by others and added more apple and cinnamon. I also cut down on the vanilla essence and the cake was still wonderful. The apples , when baked perfectly, are tender and extraordinary to taste. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
LOVED IT! I used mini bundt pans to make the recipe easy to share. They only took about 30 minutes to bake, making 10 little cakes. Because the pans were small, I cut the apple slices in half. Other than that, I followed the recipe making no changes to the ingredients or the temperature. Thank you Shirleyo for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was very good. Used 3/4 c coconut oil and 1/4 c sour cream instead of vegetable oil. Decreased sugar to 2 cups. Increased number of apples. Also used apple cider instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent, very moist. I used pineapple juice in place of the orange juice. I always use more than 3 apples when making this cake and today I used two pears as well as 3 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
really nice plain cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Marskell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I always double this recipe, and always use 4 apples per cake. This cake freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This cake was melt in your mouth moist and delicious. Best apple cake recipe on the site. Try it... you won't be disappointed, I promise! Thanks so much, shirleyo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for the first time after picking 25 pounds of apples. I increased the apples to 5, used a combination of Fiji and Braeburn and used apple cider instead of orange juice. It was wonderful. I gave some to my son's in-laws and they have been asking for more ever since. It was flavorful, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
wonderful receipe! I used 4 small loaf pans and it took less than 30 min of baking. I used 6 apples. lots of cinimmon and sugar like others recommended, and substituted lemon juice instead of the orange juice. it tasted like an apple pie filling and was great even a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Just finished having a slice while still warm from the oven. This cake is delicious, nice and moist. The changes I made were to use half brown sugar and half white, for a total of two cups. Also used half cup applesauce and half cup oil. I added allspice, nutmeg and clove since I like it a bit more spicy. I used about two ups diced various apples that I can on hand and did not layer. Just mixed all the wet ingredients into the dry ones and added the diced apples in the end. Baked for 50 minutes in a 9X13 tray. Will definitely make this one again, with less sugar next time and will try it with diced peaches when they come into season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States