Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Excellent! Used 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2. Used peaches instead of apples (double the amount of fruit in either case). Bake for under 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Always a crowd pleaser. I use 2 cups of sugar and more apples - 5 or 6, so it takes about 90 min. to bake. This is a pretty cake as is, but I sometimes drizzle with a simple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have finally found a great recipe for jewish apple cake. I didn't change a thing and it came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I have made this cake dozens of times, and it has never failed yet. I did make some personal adjustments. I bake it in a bundt pan and I always use at least 5 or 6 apples, my family loves more apples, and I adjust the cinnamon, family loves cinnamon, and suarg for the extra apples, and I add a least 1/2 cup or more of raisins to the apple mixtureand it doesn't affect the cooking time because the bundt takes a little longer anyway. I also dust it with confectioner's sugar (caster sugar) through a sieve when it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
A beautiful, delicious cake, worthy of serving as a fall dessert or a Sunday brunch. On the sweet side, but a beautiful consistency and flavor. I used 3 very large Cortland apples and it was just right. If using small to regular sized apples I would definitely be generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
My husband loves this cake! I added more apples the second time I made it also mixed 2 tbsp. of brown sugar and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts with the apples. Moist and delish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Excellent - moist with a tender outer crust. I added an extra apple and used Golden Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was a great recipe. It looked bakery perfect, and turned out moist and flavorful. I used an extra apple for added richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Have been making a Jewish Apple Cake for over 20 years and decided to try this one. It was even better than the one I have been asked to bring to parties for many years! The only thing that was missing, which I added was 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup golden raisons. Nuts and raisons are a must for Jewish Apple cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Everyone really enjoyed this one - lots of apple flavor. Thanks! I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States