Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I made this for Thanksgiving and it went over well. My husband rated it a 3 but I would give it a 4... I would make it again, but this time I would add 31/2 apples...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
I made this recipe for a sick friend, it looked so apetizing that I made one for our house. It was simply wonderful, I will do this one again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
My mom still makes the best Jewish Apple Cake but this one was right up there with hers. Nice and moist. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
this cake was so moist. I brought it to an Israeli fellowship. When I went to grab a piece, there was none left. Everyone raved over this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORANGERY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I loved this recipe! My mother-in-law loved it so much she asked for the recipe. I made some changes though: substituted applesauce for the oil, mixed dry ingredients separately and added them to the wet, reduced amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups to reduce sweetness added from applesauce, greased, sugared and floured pan, and finally, I dusted the cake with powdered sugar once cool. I promise, this cake is so moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I don't know what I could have done wrong, but this cake was not what I expected. I found it too heavy and a little on the dry side. My husband liked it, but he was pretty much the only one. I don't think I'll be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Excellent! Used 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2. Used peaches instead of apples (double the amount of fruit in either case). Bake for under 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
A beautiful, delicious cake, worthy of serving as a fall dessert or a Sunday brunch. On the sweet side, but a beautiful consistency and flavor. I used 3 very large Cortland apples and it was just right. If using small to regular sized apples I would definitely be generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
My husband loves this cake! I added more apples the second time I made it also mixed 2 tbsp. of brown sugar and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts with the apples. Moist and delish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Excellent - moist with a tender outer crust. I added an extra apple and used Golden Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States