Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very very good! My family really enjoyed it. It was my first tiem making an apple cake and this recipe was easy to follow and seems fool proof to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
A great cake 1st time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe. I used part brown sugar for this and 1/2 cup oj and 6 macintosh apples. Since I used a Bundt pan and the top would not be visible, I used the marbling effect when adding the apple mixture. Delicious, got many compliments, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Oh my stars, this is good! I made modifications as per other reviewers: Use 4-5 apples, blend them with 1/2 C sugar + 1 Tbsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Make 3 "layers" of the cake, 2 of the apples. Use 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup apple sauce. Mine baked for 71 minutes. And last but not least...top the warm baked cake with caramel glaze: 1/4 butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar, a tsp or so of milk or cream. Bring to a boil, let cool slightly & drizzle over the cake. I think one slice is worth about 30 WW points, but honey...it'll take ya to a place you've never been...go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Good moist cake-I like a little more cinnamon. I don't add the OJ-don't like the taste. Also I cut the baking time down to55- 60 mins for my oven, otherwise it's overbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love this cake! I used an angel food cake pan (also known as a tube pan) 5 unpeeled, apple juice instead of orange juice and sugared the pan. I also baked it for 60 minutes in a convection oven and it was FABULOUS!!! I will make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Perfect every time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
was sooo good! very moist and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. The second time I made it, I made a couple of changes and amped the spice up a bit, adding about 1/2 tsp each of ground cloves and nutmeg. I also made it vegan so I could bring it to work - just substituted about 1/2 cup of baby applesauce and maybe 2/3 cup of plain soymilk for the eggs until the consistency was right. Oh, I did cut the cooking time, too, because at 65 min, it was done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States