Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made this several times, and it always turns out great and everyone is always asking for the recipe. It's really easy to make, and I'm not an experienced baker. The only problem I've ever had is that one of the first times I made it, the cake stuck in the pan and broke while taking it out. Since then, I've always greased the pan with a mixture of equal parts flour, shortening, and vegetable oil, and the cake literally falls out of the pan every time. I also use this to grease the pan for other types of baking with great results. I usually glaze the finished cake with a mixture of icing sugar, milk, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used a Bundt cake pan and baked it for 60 minutes. Cake was very moist but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will add more apples and dust them with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I've experimented with the recipe quite a few times. No matter what, it's always turned out great! I've found that the more you beat it the cakier and denser it becomes. If you're looking for an eggy, light dessert, mix it by hand and don't worry about little lumps. Also, if you want the apples to be softer, cook them with cinnamon, sugar and a splash of rum before hand over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
YUM! I made some changes per suggestions from others. I mixed the apple slices with cinnamon and sugar (let it sit for 5 mins or so) prior to layering. I didn't measure out the cinnamon and sugar, I just went by how it looked and tasted. I also used rum instead of orange juice. This was absolutely delicious. Tasted best the next day or two. But it tasted great the first day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think the next time I make it, I'll cut the apples into large chunks. I'll also try it with the cake being the last layer. All the apples seemed to sink to the bottom (the top when you take it out of the pan). Other than that, I would not change the recipe. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was delicious and easy! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I cooked it for about 70 minutes, and the bottom was slightly burnt, but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
very excellent , very moist even on the 5th day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used brown sugar instead of white sugar (didnt have any). I also used apple juice instead of orange (didnt have any) and to that I added the juice of one lemon and a swig of beer (I was drinking it and thought it might be good). I also added lemon to the apples mixed with nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and sugar. I mixed the dry ingredients (except for the sugar which I mixed in with the eggs, oil and vanilla) separately from the wet and then added them to the mixing bowl cup by cup, alternating between the wet and dry ingredients. The batter looked like velvet and left ribbons across the top! I also put the sugar covered apples in the bottom of the bunt pan and mixed the juice from the apple/spice mixture into the batter before pouring the batter on top of the apples. The apples caramelized and each bite just melts in the mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Came out perfect and YUMMY! Didn't alter a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States