Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I only had 2 apples on hand, so more would definitely have been better. It was still delicious enough to win the prize for me of "Best Jewish Dish" at our final meeting before visiting Israel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I have been making this cake for 33 years!!! and I'm 43. I use Macintosh apples. 4-5 depending on size. I also set the apples aside with the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Then make the batter. I am going to try one reviewers idea of 3 layers of batter and 2 of apples... as I've never really liked the apples on top...thanks. I also pour the juice of the apples into my batter before layering cake. It's important to note that this cake is great for freezing. After cooling, wrap and freeze for future use:) Around the holidays I make the cake into 2 loaf pans instead of the round bundt. Then I have 2 gifts out of one cake :) I love this cake. It's great with tea or coffee in the morning. I've brought it into work with rave reviews...only problem is everyone that tries it wants it MORE so print recipes wherever you bring it or you'll be baking it often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMICHELEY
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I liked this recipe. It was very easy to make, but took a really long time to bake. I was scared I was going to burn it. It didn't though even after 2 hours of baking in my bundt cake pan. It is a very heavy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My family always made good Jewish Apple Cakes growing up. This recipe is even better. I add 1/2 cup applesauce and sprinkle sugar inside the greased pan too. Only need to bake 45 minutes and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I've made this cake, successfully, many times, but each time I've made a few changes. Today, to begin, I increased all the ingredients by 50% to accomodate a large tube pan. Instead of just vanilla extract, I used one teaspoon each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extract. I used five apples, two Granny Smith, two Fuji and one Braeburn, because they're what I had in the fridge. To insure a very moist cake, instead of oil, I used melted butter flavored vegetable shortening. I thoroughly mixed the eggs into the melted shortening and orange juice with a wire whip, when the melted shortening was just slightly warm to the touch. When I mixed the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, it became very obvious that more liquid was needed. I added additional juice as I mixed, until I had a very thick batter; too thick to pour, but perfect for spooning into the tube pan. I tossed the apples in sugar that had been spiced with cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. Baking at 350 degrees, my bake time was 76 minutes. At 60 minutes, the cake's top had reached a perfect color, but it was clear the cake needed more oven time. I slipped the cake out of the oven at the 60 minute mark and covered the top with foil. The cake looks and tastes terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have been trying to find a Jewish Apple Cake recipe I could replicate and this is it! I used 4 Granny Smith apples, but next time would use 5-6. I also found that the top layer of apples got a little burnt so next time I'll do 2 apple layers with 3 cake/dough layers, finishing w/the dough layer. Like most other reviewers, I tossed the apples in the cinnamon & sugar mixture. I'll try brown sugar next time and perhaps using some applesauce instead of so much oil. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I took it to a Christmas dinner party and it got rave reveiws. I did mix brown sugar and cinnamon rather than white sugar with the apples and let them soak while I was making the batter. I used Granny Smiths. I also made a caramel glaze to drizzle over it! I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
It was VERY dry! I must have done something wrong! It smelled real good while baking though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Amazing recipe! I topped with a caramel glaze and it just made it over the top. Perfectly moist, kept great overnight and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This cake was very moist and delicious - our company had seconds and even thirds! However, MAKE SURE to grease the pan very well. I sprayed my bundt pan with Pam (quite a bit of it) and it stuck pretty badly. The cake looked horrible but tasted wonderful! Btw, it took 80 minutes at 350 to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States