Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THIS CAKE,I WAS A LITTLE SURPRISED AT HOW THICK THE BATTER WAS SO I ADDED A LITTLE BIT MORE OJ AND OIL.AND,I HAD TO BAKE IT FOR THE FULL 90 MIN.I JUST MADE IT AGAIN AND DID THE SAME EXACT THING AND IT TURNED OUT JUST AS GREAT!I HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY OLD JEWISH APPLE CAKE RECIPES BECAUSE IT KEPT GIVING ME HEARTBURN...WHY....I DON'T KNOW BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I USED A FRESH ORANGE FOR THE JUICE AND THANK GOODNESS....NO HEARTBURN! I REALLY LOVE THIS CAKE,IT'S SO MOIST AND DELICIOUS.AND IT ALSO FREEZES REALLY WELL.I CUT IT INTO SERVING PORTIONS AND WRAP WELL AND PUT THE PIECES INTO A FREEZER BAG,THEN WHENEVER I WANT A PIECE FOR MY MORNING COFFEE,I TAKE A SLICE OUT AND IN THE MORNING I AM ENJOYING THIS WONDERFUL CAKE! THANKS EVER SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
this cake is very "fallish", simple and delicious. it turned out very good, even if I made a mistake: I was in a hurry and misread, so instead of 5 teaspoon of sugar I put 5 tablespoons...well, don't know if I won't repeat the error on purpose from now on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
A lot of Jewish apple cakes come out dry but this cake is very moist and delicious. The only difference I made in the recipe was to follow my friends advice and mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apple slices instead of sprinkling the cinnamon and sugar over the apples. That gave the apples a delicious flavor in the cake. At 350 degrees it took 85 minutes to come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My family loved the cake, but next time I will add more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I have made this cake 5 times now, and its been a winner every time. Can be made as dessert and served with cream. Turns out perfect each time, so no worries if you have to make it at the last minute.Looks attractive too. Made it for my mothers frieds, and they liked it so much that we literally had to grab the last few pieces to keep for my hubby,when he came home from work! Baking time may not be 70 mins...45-50mins are usually enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I was very disappointed with this recipe - because I never got a chance to eat it. I printed it out and followed it to the letter. My husband set the timer for 70 minutes, but I thought it would be prudent to check it after 55. By that time it was burned. My oven's temperatures are consistent, so it is not an equipment malfunction. Unfortunately, I chose to try this recipe for Thanksgiving tomorrow, and now I have no cake to take to my mother-in-law's house. I would DEFINITELY recommend checking the cake after 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
High marks for this one! I made it lowfat by substituting apple sauce for the oil, and it still turned out well. I also substituted rum for the orange juice, as recommended by another reviewer, and I think that adds a nice touch. I would even increase the amount next time for a stronger flavor. Mine didn't need as long to bake -- only an hour. Also, be generous with the apple -- it bakes so nicely in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
This was my first attempt at a cake that didn't come from a box. It was really good. My family didn't even wait for it to cool down. It was easy to make. It took a long time to cook, but I must say it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This cake was excellent. It has a great flavor, is very moist and relatively easy to make. I served it to company and they liked it so much she asked for the recipe. she made one for a birthday party and, like mine, there was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I was sooo nervous about making this cake for a friend at work without trying it, but couldn't cut into it before the presentation. It turned out to be a big hit with my co-workers and requests for the recipe grew more and more. Thank You Janice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States