Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
First attempt and cake was delicious. The only problem - didn't have enough batter to coat the top layer. Could have easily used a double batch.(used three large apples). So, it doesn't look picture perfect but tastes good! Also, substituted Splenda for the sugar and still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I used 6 small apples in the recipe and tossed them with the cinnamin and sugar after I cut them (so they would not brown). I layered the cake 2 times in a tube pan also. Cake came out GREAT. If you want something not too sweet, but full of fruit this is the cake for you. Cake matures in flavor in 1-2 days and is divine with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Looked pretty but didn't taste like much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Delicious! I made quite a few changes as I just hastily chose a cake recipe using apples... I used a regular baking dish, added whole wheat, substituted water for some of the oil, and was liberal with cinnamon and sugar. It turned out well, with just added cooking time necessary due to the pan choice. The vanilla taste is noticable which enhances the entire cake. Thanks for sharing, Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Excellent & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! My boyfriend and I (and the rest of his friends) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeriLee
Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have been making this recipe for MANY years. It is just about foolproof. Everyone loves it. I do a couple of things differently: I cut up the apples and sprinkle them with sugar and cinammon and let them sit. I use 3 layers of batter and 2 layers of apples (ending with the batter) and then pour the juice from the apple/sugar/cin mixture over the batter before putting the cake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
i agree with the reviews, i added 1/2c. to sugar and did 7-8 smaller sized macintosh apples. you should watch the time, mine was perfect at about 65min. i also added another 1/2tsp to vanilla. best jewish apple cake i ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
If you like a simple cake with tea or coffee, this will go well. If you want something a little sweeter (or more in depth) for a special occasion, you may want to put a glaze over the top, or try a more elaborate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I found this cake to be very dry! I baked it about 65 minutes at 350° and followed the recipe exact. I chose this apple cake recipe because of the rave reviews but ended up being disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States