Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was fantastic!! My father actually licked his fingers! I followed the suggestions to add a half cup sugar and a half tsp of vanilla and I also cut the apples into chuncks and coated them in the cinn and sugar. What a hit ... I am making this more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
SO Disappointing... I was really, really hoping this would be good, but I thought it came out bland. The cake I made is edible, but certainly not worth the time I spent making it. The cooking time is way off, and this recipe definitely needs something more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this in loaves and diced the apples. It is so easy and it is EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
First attempt and cake was delicious. The only problem - didn't have enough batter to coat the top layer. Could have easily used a double batch.(used three large apples). So, it doesn't look picture perfect but tastes good! Also, substituted Splenda for the sugar and still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I used 6 small apples in the recipe and tossed them with the cinnamin and sugar after I cut them (so they would not brown). I layered the cake 2 times in a tube pan also. Cake came out GREAT. If you want something not too sweet, but full of fruit this is the cake for you. Cake matures in flavor in 1-2 days and is divine with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Looked pretty but didn't taste like much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Delicious! I made quite a few changes as I just hastily chose a cake recipe using apples... I used a regular baking dish, added whole wheat, substituted water for some of the oil, and was liberal with cinnamon and sugar. It turned out well, with just added cooking time necessary due to the pan choice. The vanilla taste is noticable which enhances the entire cake. Thanks for sharing, Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Excellent & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! My boyfriend and I (and the rest of his friends) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeriLee
Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have been making this recipe for MANY years. It is just about foolproof. Everyone loves it. I do a couple of things differently: I cut up the apples and sprinkle them with sugar and cinammon and let them sit. I use 3 layers of batter and 2 layers of apples (ending with the batter) and then pour the juice from the apple/sugar/cin mixture over the batter before putting the cake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States