Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Delicious! I made quite a few changes as I just hastily chose a cake recipe using apples... I used a regular baking dish, added whole wheat, substituted water for some of the oil, and was liberal with cinnamon and sugar. It turned out well, with just added cooking time necessary due to the pan choice. The vanilla taste is noticable which enhances the entire cake. Thanks for sharing, Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Excellent & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! My boyfriend and I (and the rest of his friends) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeriLee
Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have been making this recipe for MANY years. It is just about foolproof. Everyone loves it. I do a couple of things differently: I cut up the apples and sprinkle them with sugar and cinammon and let them sit. I use 3 layers of batter and 2 layers of apples (ending with the batter) and then pour the juice from the apple/sugar/cin mixture over the batter before putting the cake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
i agree with the reviews, i added 1/2c. to sugar and did 7-8 smaller sized macintosh apples. you should watch the time, mine was perfect at about 65min. i also added another 1/2tsp to vanilla. best jewish apple cake i ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
If you like a simple cake with tea or coffee, this will go well. If you want something a little sweeter (or more in depth) for a special occasion, you may want to put a glaze over the top, or try a more elaborate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I found this cake to be very dry! I baked it about 65 minutes at 350° and followed the recipe exact. I chose this apple cake recipe because of the rave reviews but ended up being disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
My Fred says "YUM!!" As suggested, I tossed the apple slices in the cinn./sugar first. I baked it in a fluted bundt pan and it took 60 mins. Didn't have OJ made, so I "borrowed" a juice box from the kids. Next time I will do three layers of batter so that my last apple layer won't be on the bottom of the cake, but layered beautifully inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I can remember my Mom making this for us as kids. One of the best apple cake recipes you will ever find! Great served warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THIS CAKE,I WAS A LITTLE SURPRISED AT HOW THICK THE BATTER WAS SO I ADDED A LITTLE BIT MORE OJ AND OIL.AND,I HAD TO BAKE IT FOR THE FULL 90 MIN.I JUST MADE IT AGAIN AND DID THE SAME EXACT THING AND IT TURNED OUT JUST AS GREAT!I HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY OLD JEWISH APPLE CAKE RECIPES BECAUSE IT KEPT GIVING ME HEARTBURN...WHY....I DON'T KNOW BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I USED A FRESH ORANGE FOR THE JUICE AND THANK GOODNESS....NO HEARTBURN! I REALLY LOVE THIS CAKE,IT'S SO MOIST AND DELICIOUS.AND IT ALSO FREEZES REALLY WELL.I CUT IT INTO SERVING PORTIONS AND WRAP WELL AND PUT THE PIECES INTO A FREEZER BAG,THEN WHENEVER I WANT A PIECE FOR MY MORNING COFFEE,I TAKE A SLICE OUT AND IN THE MORNING I AM ENJOYING THIS WONDERFUL CAKE! THANKS EVER SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States