Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Fabulous. Just sweet enough. difficult to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe has been in my family for 3 generations. Insanely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I'm begged to bring this to parties. It's incredible. I've tweaked it in the following ways: I substitute natural applesauce for oil (super healthy), I sometimes omit the orange juice (not always necessary), I use one cup brown and one cup white sugar, and I let the apples soak in the sugar and cinnamon mixture before using them--wow!! I've also given out the recipe a number of times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chilemaven
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. Cake is moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Not sure how I'm the ONLY person who couldn't get this right but I didn't. Followed the instructions and after 90 minutes the cake still was done on the inside?!?! Please tell me others had this problem?!? So disappointed as I wanted to share in Rosh Hashanah with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made double portion. Used much less sugar. i used 2.5 cup not firmed brown sugar. Used less flour, half of which white whole wheat. Added a tiny bit of soda. I got 4 small round cakes 9'. Going to freeze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I liked this cake very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake was really good. I would have added one or two more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I gave it one star because there were no minus stars. I followed this recipe to the letter and the dough was like greasy bread dough, it said pour into the mold...but this you had to lay out it was so stiff. It didn't even rise, the apples were overdone sticky, and the cake is so heavy it could be used as a weapon. Worst recipe I have ever followed. I should have stayed with my own recipe instead of trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Follow the recipe exactly and adjust your oven if necessary. I make this exact same recipe for my cafe and people rave over it - and keep coming back and ordering several at a time. In my oven at work - 77 minutes. At home, 60 minutes. Know your ovens, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States