Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I took it to a Christmas dinner party and it got rave reveiws. I did mix brown sugar and cinnamon rather than white sugar with the apples and let them soak while I was making the batter. I used Granny Smiths. I also made a caramel glaze to drizzle over it! I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
It was VERY dry! I must have done something wrong! It smelled real good while baking though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Amazing recipe! I topped with a caramel glaze and it just made it over the top. Perfectly moist, kept great overnight and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This cake was very moist and delicious - our company had seconds and even thirds! However, MAKE SURE to grease the pan very well. I sprayed my bundt pan with Pam (quite a bit of it) and it stuck pretty badly. The cake looked horrible but tasted wonderful! Btw, it took 80 minutes at 350 to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Moist and tasty apple cake, but i had to make a couple of changes. Usually, i don't like to use so much oil in my cakes, it's not ealthy at all and i don't like the oily aftertaste either, so i cut the amount of oil in half (maybe a little less) and added homemade apple sauce instead. Forgot about the orange juice and added more apples. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Just delicious! An aunt of mine used to bake this cake, she gave my mother the recipe a while ago but it never came out right. Still I remembered it was a great cake and wanted to try again. Today I tried this recipe and it came out excellent! I added the zest of one orange because I love its taste in cakes. It overpowers the apple a little, but to me it's still great. Ah, and I'll use 4 or 5 apples the next time, which will be very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
As I had to go to a Shiva and as is the custom to bring a dish, I thought I would try my hand at this Jewish Apple Cake. It turned out fabulous! My thanks to JBS Box for a wonderfully simple cake. This cake turned out so well, that I will be adding it to my list of Christmas desserts! Thank you again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I used lemon juice, cut the sugar to 1 1/2 c and increased the vanilla to 1 tbsp. I found mine was done in about an hour in a 9" square tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome! So moist. I used 4 cups of apples and replaced half the oil with butter. I probably added a little more orange juice than the recipe called for too. Baking time was about 70 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This cake was a huge hit. The only difficult thing was spreading the very stiff dough in the tube pan. I used a little bit too much dough for the bottom half so had to really work to get the apples covered by the top half. This cake tasted so much like pound cake but was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States