Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Good moist cake-I like a little more cinnamon. I don't add the OJ-don't like the taste. Also I cut the baking time down to55- 60 mins for my oven, otherwise it's overbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love this cake! I used an angel food cake pan (also known as a tube pan) 5 unpeeled, apple juice instead of orange juice and sugared the pan. I also baked it for 60 minutes in a convection oven and it was FABULOUS!!! I will make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Perfect every time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
was sooo good! very moist and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. The second time I made it, I made a couple of changes and amped the spice up a bit, adding about 1/2 tsp each of ground cloves and nutmeg. I also made it vegan so I could bring it to work - just substituted about 1/2 cup of baby applesauce and maybe 2/3 cup of plain soymilk for the eggs until the consistency was right. Oh, I did cut the cooking time, too, because at 65 min, it was done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I used a mix of apples... I used 2 golden delicious and 3 macintosh. My batter was VERY thick because I did not have an orange juice, but subbed apple juice instead. I also added 1 TBS of vanilla and more cinnamon/sugar mix to coat the apples in. I didn't think this was going to turn out well because of how thick the batter was, it was like molasses on a cold day! But, I managaed to do three layers and batter, and 2 layers of cinnamon/sugar apples, and baked it for 50 minutes and kept checking it since other reviewers said to beware that 80-90 minutes may be too long. However, I had to keep resetting the timer, so it took about 85 minutes to fully cook. My hubby and I ate half of it last night! It is delish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This cake is so yummy I feel like I could eat half of it in one sitting. I used 5 medium Macintoshes because 3 seemed too measly and it was the perfect amount for 3 layers of alternating batter and apples. I used half applesauce and half oil and I accidentally forgot to add the vanilla, but it still came out beautiful and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was delicious! I sliced the apples first and coated them with the cinamon sugar first. And the cake was really good after that. I did drizzle frosting on the top as well. Very moist cake and will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
this cake could have been used as an anchor for a yacht. Dough never rose: cake could not be lifted from pan. slices broke when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
First of all, the flavor of this cake was great. Aside from that, after reading the reviews, I don't know what went wrong. Everyone said it was so moist...mine was EXTREMELY dry. I did substitute rum for OJ as many of the reviewers recommended. If I were to make again I think I would most definitely add a second layer of apples, at least, inside the cake...that would probably help some with the moisture issue as well. Glad I made two batches worth, because, as other reviewers have mentioned, one batch would have made an extremely small cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States