Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
of course you can customize this recipe but thats what makes it gret it is fool proof for the even the novice . It is also great as is only mod i would care to offer if dice your apples so you can fit more in this recipe can take it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
As some of the other reviewers mentioned my cake cooked a bit faster than the instructions indicated. It wasn't ruined, but it was pretty dry and browned on the bottom. We served it with ice cream to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My Son made this wonderful recipe. It was the best Apple dessert cake I've tasted! I did put an orange juice glaze on the cake but the cake was delicious before the glaze was added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
It turned out great! Delicious and moist! I did what others suggested: mixed apples with sugar and cinnamon. I also created 3 layers of apples. People mentioned that it was "just like from the good bakery" :) I baked it for 75 min on 350F - didn't burn, was ust perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
awesome i just added 1 more apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evanruss
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
wow this cake is fabulous. its so rustic and kinda reminds me of an apple pie. definately something that will be made over and over haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evanruss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I have eaten this cake for over 40 years. My mother made it every Easter. One year I made it without the layers. I just mixed all the ingredients and put it in the pan. That is the way I have made it ever since. IT IS VERY MOIST this way!!! My husband took the cake and recipe to work. People have tried it both ways and agree the mixing is much more moist. ENJOYMENT is found no matter which way you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I've taken this recipe to numerous potlucks and never had any leftover to take home. Everyone raved. This is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was so very good.. I too doubled the recipe and added some extra apples. My family went nuts for this. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeniewho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The taste was there, but it came out kind of grainy, like a cornbread. I'll still be looking for a good Jewish apple cake recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States