Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. it was dry, the flavor of the cake was bland - not at ALL the jewish apple cake i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Followed the directions and baked for 70 minutes and used 3 large Granny Smiths.. This cake was DRY and had no apple taste. I cannot give it as a gift. I am starting over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I substitute apple sauce for half the oil, mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apples and add a splash of brandy to the apples. I also mix the apples into the batter before pouring into the pan for more even consistency. Have also used apple juice when there was no OJ in the frige. Caramel Frosting 4 recipe from this site is really wonderful on top of this cake. Sprinkle with flaked sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this for a Holiday Luncheon. It was a HUGE success. However, I did tweak it a bit. Instead of using 3 cups all purpose flour, I used 1.5 cups of all purpose flour and 1.5 cup of whole wheat flour. I also used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup of Splenda. I combined the cinnamon with 5 tbsp (yes Tablespoons) of Splenda Brown sugar blend and mixed it thru the sliced apples (I used 5 apples), setting them aside while I mixed the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is my absolute favorite cake. I always have to add more time. Usually 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The cake was definitely delicious, but tasted a bit plain. Were I making it a second time, I would add some powdered sugar frosting on the top, or something to give it an extra kick. Also, I cooked for about 80 minutes, and think that it would have benefited from about 10 minutes less cooking time to make the cake more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This cake looked really good for Rosh Hashanah and the reviews seemed positive. I used the suggestion of applesauce for oil and Rum for OJ and I also used Splenda for sugar, however my cake came out very dense and the cake part wasnt flavorful at all. I would add 50% more batter too, because double is too much for the pan but as is is too little to coat the apples. The apples were tasty, but then again its hard to screw up cid/sugar apples in the oven unless you burn it. I also baked it for just 50 minutes. It was so much work that I probably wont attempt a re-do. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is an awesome cake. My version is very simple - flour, sugar, eggs, oj, oil and baking powder....mix til smooth - then layer in the pan with apples, butter and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake is very moist and tasty. It took mine 60-65 min. in a bundt pan. Greased and floured, nothing stuck. Keep checking doneness with a butter knife not with toothpick because it's too deep to reach bottom. I used brown sugar for the 5tsp to mix with cinn to replace the white sugar. I also used an extra apple. It would not be enough with three unless they are huge. This type of dense (pound cake) type is better served the day after baking. But is still tastes good the same day just not the same texture. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have use this exact recipe several times. It always comes out wonderfully. This is always a hit with my family & co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States