Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My family has been making this recipe for years. I use more apples than this recipe calls for. It smells amazing and looks fantastic. A great cake for fall or winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe is great. I add an extra half of ingredients to increase the batter so that I can have more layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Love this cake. I cheated and used 4 apples, instead of mixing apples in white sugar, I used brown, and instead of orange juice I used 1/4 cup of Rum! Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I been making this cake for years. For those out there that want it to be a little sweeter I suggest letting your apples sit on the counter for a few days, so they will rippen more. The sweeter the apple the better the taste. After that is done when your ready to bake insted of cutting the apples use a cheese grater and grate the apples add sugar and cinnamon and set aside untill your ready to use them. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was so easy and it turned out beautiful. My neighbors said my house smelled just like the holidays. Very nice and very moist. My first time making this cake. This is a keeper and I will be making it alot for holiday gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was fantastic!! My father actually licked his fingers! I followed the suggestions to add a half cup sugar and a half tsp of vanilla and I also cut the apples into chuncks and coated them in the cinn and sugar. What a hit ... I am making this more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
SO Disappointing... I was really, really hoping this would be good, but I thought it came out bland. The cake I made is edible, but certainly not worth the time I spent making it. The cooking time is way off, and this recipe definitely needs something more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this in loaves and diced the apples. It is so easy and it is EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
First attempt and cake was delicious. The only problem - didn't have enough batter to coat the top layer. Could have easily used a double batch.(used three large apples). So, it doesn't look picture perfect but tastes good! Also, substituted Splenda for the sugar and still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I used 6 small apples in the recipe and tossed them with the cinnamin and sugar after I cut them (so they would not brown). I layered the cake 2 times in a tube pan also. Cake came out GREAT. If you want something not too sweet, but full of fruit this is the cake for you. Cake matures in flavor in 1-2 days and is divine with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States